The long journey home


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
March 10th 2011
Published: March 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I've been home for several days now, but the blog is unfinished and has been weighing heavily on my mind (well, a little bit). There's really not much to say, but here goes.

Wednesday was a pretty easy day. I just re-read it and it's only a couple paragraphs, but we didn't really do anything spectacular, so I'm just going to leave it.

Thursday - our final day in Africa. After being able to sleep in again, somewhat (we're in the middle of the city and the hotel is under renovations, so it's pretty noisy in the mornings), I made sure everything was packed and then we all moved our stuff into Todd and Heather's room for the rest of the day. That way we could check out of our other rooms, yet still nap and shower if we wanted to. We spent the whole day at the hotel, well Todd ran to the bank, but that was all. Spent some time at the pool, played crib at the bar, lounged around, checked email, us girls did some hair braiding, and soon it was ready to head off to the airport.

Meryl's flight left an hour before ours did, so we all headed over together. We had one final bite to eat as a group and then it was time for her to go to her gate. The rest of us did some last minute shopping as we made our way to our gate by 11:30pm. Flight to London was long, uncomfortable and boring. We'd already watched all the good movies on the flight to Nairobi, so I tried to get some sleep. Think I got about an hour's worth of sleep on the 8 hour flight. Our layover in London was only 6 hours this time, not enough to leave the airport, but we had a nice breakfast, walked around to stretch out the muscles. Flight to Edmonton had a much better movie selection and I stayed awake the whole time. We were not pleased at all to come back to -20 and snow, but Mom and Dad were there at the airport and they were babysitting Decklan, so I went home with them instead of to the city with Todd. So my vehicle was still pretty warm. Todd, Heather and Whitney had to retrieve the frozen van from park and ride, but I've heard from them and I think they made it home with all their fingers and toes.

So that's it for this trip. It's good to be home, but now that I'm back at work, I find my mind wandering to the sun and the green hills of Bumala. There are some whispers already that there might be another trip in June 2012. So gotta keep the job and start saving!! If you want to actually come along next time, let me know!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb