"The little engine that could!"


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I am happy to write that saturday the main construction of the classroom I fundraised for was completed!!!
After all the stress of doing presentations to variable organizations and random estimations on cost of supplies, the structure is now standing and will be fully functioning come september when the students return to class!!!!
For those of you who might not know, when I revealed to the ladies at living positive that I would be building a new classroom it brought about a bunch of fundraising efforts of the other volunteers that have been here for a month before me! So with that said we were able to complete 2 full classrooms and a new kitchen!! the compound doesnt even look similar to the old school which many of you have seen pictures of!!!
I cant wait till all the finishing touches have been made and I will take pictures and post them for all of you too see!!!

Now I have 2 weeks left and so many little details to tie up all the little loose ends too!!!
As per usual there are some women who are currently very ill and require support for food! So with some of the excess donation money I have been able to help at least one woman so far who has active TB get food for the next few weeks!

Also, I mentioned in my last blog that Kenya is currently going thru a drought!
Everynight on the news we are hearing about how bad its actually getting!!!
Its crazy! At least 5 people in one area in North eastern Kenya have died due to starvation!!! My first instinct in seeing some of these images has been to just travel the 1.5 days to the area and provide some people with something called "unimix' which is a well balanced porridge! But there is no telling how long the drought will actually last for so simply going and providing some food for maybe a month might not even make a difference! So right now me and mary are feeling a bit helpless!!! I am not sure what the answer is but all I can tell you is that the images I see on tv are so sad!!!
The drought is also affecting people that are close to me here! Dan (big mary's husband) has lost almost 300 acres of maize over the last month due to drought! it werent bad enough to be going through a recession, they are also fighting against mother nature!!!

I'm already trying to work on brainstorming for net years project I want to work on here in kenya, so everybody get your wallets ready cause I am sure I'll be coming around for donations in no time!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb