Let the "Power Rationing" begin!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 12th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!!!

Sorry to keep you all on the edge of your seats about where in the world I am currently!!!
I'm finally back "home" in kenya after a tough month in Egypt!
The reason for such a long delay between posts was, first, my departure from egypt was anything BUT magical! haha The chairperson in egypt ended up being a complete PSYCHO!!! During our final fight, I decided it was just best to leave and head to kenya where I knew people would love to have me!
So on that note, I did a quick tour of the pyramids and the huge market in cairo and jet setted off to Kenya!
Even when I set foot off the plane in the wee morn'n hours of August 2nd I knew I was home, the combinations of fresh morn'n air and fresh cooking fires just welcomed me off the plane!
Since being here though, there has been many problems with power!!! Most of you know I stay in a town called Ngong about 45 minutes outside nairobi.
The power has been coming and going, and then finally the government annouced last week that the whole country would be going into what they call "power rationing". Due to lack of rain and drought, there is a lack of power from the water sources so there is not enough power to run the country! so their answer to this is to simply cut power to certain regions of the country on certain days!
Last week we lacked power 3 days and this week 3 days again! but there has been confusion about which days are for our region so lets just say this is the first time I've been able to get online in the last week!

Things have been super busy since I got here! there are so many volunteers at living positive right now!!! about half of them dont actually do anything which is pretty frustrating but the other half are doing great work and are having a huge impact on the program! This week we have been busy building a new classroom and kitchen for the daycare!
It is such hard work!!! its crazy! and the tools, they are all manual tools! no power saws in sight!!!!
I have discovered I am not very good at sawing so I just stick to hammering!
We are hoping to be done by friday but are not sure how that will be since our workforce has been decreasing day by day!
As soon as I have a chance I will try to upload pics of the school so you all can see!!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb