Samburu, Africa


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We headed by car from Nairobi to Samburu yesterday. The drive was long and the roads were the worst that I have seen ever! Because of the holidays we were stopped by many policemen along the way to ensure we were not drinking. At one checkpoint, a group of Somalis came to the van window to ask where we were from. As soon as they heard Canada they immediately said Toronto. The one man asked if Crista was my daughter and said he would like to give me 4 goats for her. After careful consideration, I declined his very generous offer. I think Crista will be scarred for life feeling that her worth can be measured by 4 goats.

Upon reaching the game reserve we saw the animals that we came to see. Giraffe, Lion, Leopard, Zebra, Cheetah, Elephant, Impalla, Wart Hog, Ostridge.... It is a treat to be able to see them in their natural environment and watch how they live. They are not afraid of the safari vehicles at all.

We visited the Samburu tribe's village today and saw how simply they lived. It was a very good experience and Crista is still experiencing culture shock.

Advertisement



3rd January 2006

Happy New Year
I'm glad that the two of you have arrived safely. The dessert and wildlife sounds breath taking.....and you're just beginning. Tell Crista that I think that four goats sounds like quite a generous offer in Kenyan culture. I'm sure that it's quite a compliment. I think that you should hold out four some elephants though. You know......the ivories worth a fortune. All my love, Brenda
5th January 2006

4 goats
Well Crista, 4 goats are worth a lot in Africa. Especially if they are female. Milk can be sold, babies had. I think that was quite an honour. You're probably missing out on a middle class african lifestyle. Lucille

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb