KLM.....aijejai:-)


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
December 15th 2005
Published: December 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My first message after I left Belgium! After some problems (missed my flight from Amsterdam to Nairobi due to technical issues with the plane in Brussels => flight from Amsterdam to London and from there to Nairobi: 10 hr delay, but I keep smiling!) I'm finally in Kenya. Already from the airport to the hotel I was impressed by the beauty of this country, totally different vs. Senegal were I was 7 years ago, much cleaner but also more expensive then I thougt. Arrived in the hotel @ 8AM and pre-booked a trip @ 10:20AM to visit a part of Nairobi National park were they take care of elephants which mothers died or were killed. They stay there for +/-2-3 years and after they learned everything they need to know they are released in the park again. I can’t show you pictures now as I can’t download them here. Worth visiting I would say. After that, Simon, the gay that took me around brought me to a place were they did the same 4 giraffes....well, wasn't impressed by that, it was just a place were you can feed the giraffe's, and give money for education of children, it felt a bit like in a zoo and stayed there only 10 min.. On the other hand it was quit an experience to feel the tongues of 2 giraffes in your hands…. After visiting the beautiful house where Karen Blixen lived (Out Of Africa) I needed some sleep!

Today after my breakfast I went to the city center on my own. Also an experience… One thing 4 sure: they like my sandals..they all looked @ my feet! It feels a bit strange when you are the only white person on the road but felt ok with that after 10 min.
After visiting a local market, were they tried hard to sell me statues and other stuff I continued my walk into the centre. A gay came to me telling me he was a journalist. At the end of his story he told me he was a refugee from Sudan wanting to go to Dar (Tanzania). He only had no visa and needed money to get there. So being good as I am...I gave him 100 shilling (1.5 Euro) and continued my walk. After 10 minutes 2 people stopped me again and told me they worked for the government and were looking for this man to arrest him. They asked me what he told me.... my response was just that he told me that people were looking for him and I asked them why they didn't arrest him when they saw me chatting with him....anyway after a little chat with the man he wanted that I would pay a coffee for him. :-) Nooooo way...they stayed very polite and warned me to be careful with people that come to me. After wishing them all the best I went back to the hotel. My first trip in town was already a good adventure :-) However I look more forward to the bike trip to explore the beauty of the nature rather then to stay in a big city were 7000 000 people live! In an hour I will meat the other people that will join the bike trip and 2-night I will go out with some New Zealand girls I met this morning @ breakfast. They are here already for the 6th time visiting friends and they now were to go. Also the non-touristy spots. Must say, if you travel on your own, it's easy to meet people. Already had a good chat with other New Zealand girls yesterday but they left the hotel in the afternoon. (looks like half of New Zealand is here...but I don't complain :-) )

So that the first part here, enjoy it a lot, blue sky, nice nature, (over) friendly people. Don't know whether it will be possible to write something during the bike trip but will do as soon as possible.

Ciaociaooo
Tim


Advertisement



20th December 2005

Goe bezig!
Ewel joeng, you speak English now, Vlaams vergeten? Then we speak English 2 U back hé ;o) Of no, I'll give you a mix so your brains still have to work a bit. Glad to read about your first experiences which are very good obviously ... as we already expected of course! I'm very curious to see some pictures. Your feet became "tigerfeet" already with those beautiful sandalekes? Goei sandalekes hé?! Ondertussen zit ge waarschijnlijk op uw velo'ke - is het nie te zwaar afzien? Zegeuh, een paar Nieuw-Zeelandse schonen ontmoet ... dan gotsjie oer planne ook aanpasse no deie cotée ofwa? En did U become a cannibal meanwhile: U meAt people??? Ge zou ze beter mEEten ;o) En is het ne gay of ne guy die u aansprak - een wereld van verschil! Ik heb gisteren mijnen assessment gedaan, zware dag maar de uren vlogen voorbij, heb me wel geamuseerd, plezante groep en fijn assessorke ;o) Nu het resultaat afwachten ... 4 weken, dus 2e helft januari - ik weet totaal niet wat ik ervan moet verwachten, wait & see hé! Voor de rest dezelfde ambiance van altijd hier, dus hoeven we geen tekeningskes bij te maken. Allé, benieuwd naar de volgende verhalen, have a good time en keep us posted. Ciao'kes - Anyes
22nd December 2005

'tzen welle
Dag lief Timmeke, blijkbaar is daar alles goed in de skakosj! Wij leven met je mee, hebben trouwens super gelachen met je eerste reisverhaal. Wist wel niet dat je van zo'n reis zo snel gay werd, maar kom, geen probleem hoor, hebben het altijd al een beetje geweten. Misschien komt het wel door al dat 'meat' te eten! Ziet daar maar een beetje af en tot snel bij je nieuw verhaal, doei
24th December 2005

Kerstmis in Afrika
Hallo Tim, wij hebbenuw mail doorverteld aan je ouders. Nog geen zadelpijn?Hangen er veel ballen in de bomen? wij wachten vol spanning op je volgend verslag! Een Zalig Kertfeest Van Simone Toon en Emiel
28th December 2005

Alle swat het gaat daar goe precies
EN Timmeke , zo te zien amuseert ge u al vrij goed. Ik kijk ernaar uit om andere straffe verhalen te lezen. Als er intiemere zaken moeten besproken worden, ge kent mijn e mail adres he. En doe Kuntakintee de groeten, ... En vergeet geen kaartje te sturen. Groetjes uit het koude besneeuwde Belgie Gert
28th December 2005

Looks like your having fun already!
Hiya Tim Merry xmas? Sorry I didn't get a chance to say goodbye-but it looks like your fine and enjoying your travels. Looking fwd to seeing some photos! Its getting rather crazy here as I realise for the millionth time how disorganisied I am - realised last night that I need a visa for egypt- don't have one- so may have to get one in SA. That is if I get there.. As for photos- got my digi cam -just need to know how to work it before I leave the country otherwise I am a bit shtuck! Leaving on the 4th of jan and counting down the days. Last set of jab on friday and I think I'm ready to go. Have a fab new year and will email my blog when I have set it up xx

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb