July 2- Last day in Nairobi...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post






I woke up at 8:00 am, feeling even better than the day before. A quick shower, finished packing, then down for breakfast.

I manged to fit everything into my bags, but am concerend about the weight again (I think I am close, but hopefully not over). I have gotten good at estimating the weight of my bag, sometimes within a few pounds. I have always wondered why hotels, and especially airports, do not make a weigh scale freely available to people. They harp about baggage weight all the time but leave to the final weigh-in at the ticket counter to actually determine if you are overweight or not. You would think it would be in the interests of the airports to provide free weigh-in kiosks at airports. They could even charge a little and would still be getting my business......

I checked out at about 10:30 am, but stored my luggage at the front desk until later in the day. I actually don't have to be at the airport until this evening - as I figured out from my ticket this morning. I caught a cab down to the Sarit Center, to do a little Internet communications, as well as some last minute shopping. I thought a good Swahili book was in order, and I bought one at the bookstore.

I was back to the Parkland Sports Center by 4:00 pm and then caught a cab to the airport.

(Later......)

I went through check in and my bags weighed in at 19.4 kg and 19.6 kgs, respectively (you are allowed 20 kg each!). I simply went through all the security checks and eventually straight through and onto the plane. I am carrying the 4 foot rolled banner with me and they are not even saying anything. I guess my concerns were not warranted.

The flight from Nairobi to London was not bad, and I actuall slept for an hour or two as well. I also slept for about 4 hours at the airport during my 9 hour layover. I am getting ready to board soon on Air canada for the final leg home and should be back at about 5:15 pm Edmonton time today.

See you all soon!!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb