Papa, Papa, Papa


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

No, not you Dad. Twi class has begun, I think we’ve had about 8 classes now. They’re at 7:30 Monday and Tuesday mornings, we are all on our A-game, let me tell you. The professor thinks we’re all really funny- I think that’s a good sign. One of my favorite lessons was how papa can mean 3 different things depending on the tone. For those tonally challenged (cough, cough, yours truly) this can cause a problem or two.. It sounded like we were singing (cherubically, no doubt) throughout most of the lesson. Today we learned to count. Although it’s really early, I actually have a pretty great time laughing at myself (and the rest of my compatriots).
The exam schedule came out, and pretty much poo-ed on me, but my classes are now set, and even though I’m not taking all my first choices, I do not have class Thursday or Friday… WOOHOO! Final course list: Twi (obvi), Poverty and Rural Development, The Social Structure of Modern Ghana, Human Rights in Africa, and the Sociology of Deviant Behavior. Some are better than others, but all in all I’m happy with them.
Last weekend (7/3), I went to Kumasi to visit Edna’s family with Calvin. It was a really nice trip, and it was great to meet the rest of her wonderful family. Staying in a house and just hanging out- watching football or some really great Nigerian movies was pretty perfect. Nigerian movies are big here- I don’t know how to describe them besides really excellent. The first one we watched was Adam Goes to School which is pretty much like Billy Madison, Nigerian-style. We then watched Let Me Down which is Rambo meets the Godfather… in Lagos. I also got to eat lots of local Ghanaian dishes prepared by Edna’s family including fufu (boiled and pounded cassava) and one of my favorite things here groundnut soup (peanut). It’s served with a rice ball and you use your hands to eat. Yum. Kumasi is the capital of the Ashanti region and is known for its beautiful kente weaving. Twi is a big deal because of all the Asante people there. The Palace and Asante King are also located in Kumasi. I’m headed back to Kumasi on the 20th with Mercy and my group- I’m really excited to go to a wood carving and a beading village.

Yebehyia. (See you, thank you Twi class)


Advertisement



18th March 2008

miss you
ahh kathleen. sounds fabulous. i hope you remember to come back to haverford. please continue with the updates... especially regarding your dancing skills.
20th March 2008

tone deaf? you??? i dont believe it. several people commented on your blog today and how entertaining you are by the way. and can we please watch some Nigerian movies sometime? They sound ridiculous/awesome. Have fun in Kumasi!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb