In Da Club


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend (14/3), I decided to hang around Accra and Legon because the next couple weekends are filled with trips to Kumasi and Mole national Park. I don’t think I’ve already written about the Welcome Durber, but anyway, about 10 days ago the IPO (International Programs Office) threw us a nice dinner party with a live band, great food, and of course, some pretty awesome dancing. After eating as much as possible (free fooooood), we were invited to come dance. Not many people got up, but most of my friends don’t embarrass easily (maybe that’s why we are friends…) and so we got up there and more people joined this huge circle of traditional African dancing. Although my hips are still pretty stationary, I think they are loosening a bit. Anywho, it was another one of those times, I just kind of looked around and felt so happy to be here.
Speaking of dancing, since a lot of people were in Legon this weekend, I got my first taste (or gulp) of Accra clubbing. Thursday night went with some guys on the baseball team and some friends from ISH (International Students Hostel) to this bar known for its spicy and incredible chicken. We then ventured to Basement, a pretty laid back club in Legon. Ladies get in for free (woohoo), and I continued in my question for hip movement. Friday, Anna and I went in search of a bookstore and coffee. There is a ton of instant coffee here, but since it so hot, I really haven’t been drinking much and had such a craving/ caffeine need. Long story short, 6 hours later we found all of two book stores and no drip coffee. Lots of walking, shopping (got some fabric for a dress (shocking) and a Ghana football/ soccer jersey (much less shocking)), and eating, but no coffee. It was still quite the outing though. The bar that runs Trivia on Thursdays also does karaoke on Fridays. Team Dolla Dolla Bill Y’All needed to be there to represent, and represent Sam and I did. I think our rendition of “Cry Me a River” is leading to a record deal… or when I “hit” a high note Sam and I both started laughing and missed an entire verse.
It’s a pretty hard life, so Saturday we headed to La Badi Beach, the beach like 30 min. from campus, and now free for us to get in because Italy (the manager) has befriended us. Being a white woman here, you obviously get attention, and although it’s really nice to get in for free, it’s also only because I am a white woman. Anyway, we stopped at Max Mart the Lebanese-owned grocery store that sells a ton of other stuff too, and wait for it… has a coffee shop and sandwich press! An iced vanilla latte, vegetable and brie panini and brownie later, I was ready to continue onto the beach. The beach was great, played Frisbee and swam. That night we went to again, my second club in 3 days… The club was in a neighborhood with a big Lebanese population- the differences in wealth were really striking. Quite literally there was a Ghanaian woman making egg sandwiches with a sleeping baby on her back in the headlights of a BMW SUV.
As much as I want to have the same experience here as a Ghanaian student- obviously privilege has followed me here. ISH is the nicest hall by far, usually has running water (although its been out for a day or so now), and there are two people to a room instead of four or more. 44% of Ghanaians live on less than a dollar a day. Sometimes that escapes me. So I certainly am living the fabulous life here, but Ghanaians are a proud and joyful people (as Calvin told me), and although this blog entry certainly doesn’t show my living simply here- it was a crazy weekend. I guess what I am trying to say is there is something really great about not watching lots of TV or waiting 5 days to check my e-mail. There is something really beautiful about meeting the people who make your clothes and knowing where the chicken I’m eating comes from. I think an initial “white guilt” response is to feel bad or guilty when really seeing some of the poverty here, but I think I’m over that. Most of the people I have met here are so happy, happy to be in Ghana, happy to have what they do, and happy to be alive. It’s contagious.


Advertisement



21st March 2008

Contagion
Your blog is contagious, but I feel the need to quibble. You don't really consider "iced vanilla latte" coffee, do you? Also, from your last entry, your class on the "Sociology of Deviant Behavior," is the lack of caffeine, or the heat, arousing a few of your rogue genes?

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb