Last Day in Ghana!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
August 6th 2007
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up early and headed to the Kakum national park! We had to make sure to get to the canopy walk before we left the country! Today was our last full day, so we made it a point to wake up and get there. Being in the rainforest reminded me how when I was little I wanted to move out to the forest and have a cool tree house and find the cure for cancer in a beautiful flower. The rainforest is an absolutely beautiful place and I am so thankful that I can now say that I’ve been in one… and I ventured through it on a canopy walk. What a memory. As soon as we were done there, we drove back to Accra to enjoy lunch with some of the same staff members we met over a week ago in the same city. We all changed into our beautiful Ghanaian outfits and shared our experiences, lessons learned, and good times with the staff. For lunch that day, I enjoyed groundnut soup with chicken and fufu. After dining, we went to the Centre for National Culture to buy some parting knick-knacks for the family and friends back home.
Sarah and ISarah and ISarah and I

at Kakum
The overall day was pretty rushed since we were on a tight schedule - it was so tight that I didn’t even get a chance to journal this day’s experiences - so I can only remember the major points of the day to put up on here. I remember after spending over a week in the upper parts of Ghana that seeing a huge (bank) building with windows and such was actually impressive enough for me to mention out loud - “Now THAT is a building!.” I’m almost positive it looked something like an old office building you’d see often around Houston. Most impressive part of this day - absolutely no plane delays! And along my long journey from Accra, to Amsterdam, to Detroit, to Houston… none of my baggage was lost! Now THAT is a miracle! And that concludes my Ghanaian adventure. If you care for more of my deeper realizations, I’d rather have a conversation with you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Ringo and IRingo and I
Ringo and I

my bud!
I Survived! I Survived!
I Survived!

(taken by Sarah) After I got off the last bridge
Nice Building in AccraNice Building in Accra
Nice Building in Accra

(taken by Elizabeth)
Groundnut soup!Groundnut soup!
Groundnut soup!

with chicken and fufu!
Like a local...Like a local...
Like a local...

Eating with my hands!
Serena and ISerena and I
Serena and I

in our beautiful outfits!
the Groupthe Group
the Group

(taken by Elizabeth) in our fabulous outfits!


Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb