Darren gets ill again


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
August 21st 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tues 21/08/07



I’m back working at the orphanage & the break seems to have helped a bit, but I am getting less & less sleep each night. I have woken up this morning with a really sore throat & as I’m bathing the children I feel very run-down. I tell them I can’t take them to school & I went back to bed shivering. Over the next few hours I get all the symptoms of flu but 10 times worse than any flu I have had in England. I spend the next two days in bed with a fever & having weird dreams about African drums, snakes & fire (also a very odd dream about Eric Sykes dying)!


The older children are on school holidays so are at the orphanage & seem to only want to play outside my bedroom window! I feel low physically & mentally. I love all of the children & I know I have made their lives more enjoyable since I have been there, but I feel it is for the best that I come back home. I have been here for a month & I think that if I stayed I would keep getting ill every few weeks because of the lack of real food & sleep. I explain to the leaders of the orphanage that I would maybe be of better use to them in England so I can start to raise money to help them build a new orphanage. I have also said that I will look into finding somebody to set up a web-site for them, as they need to be online so more people can have access to them. (IF ANYONE CAN HELP SET UP A WEB-SITE PLEASE EMAIL ME). I called my mum & told her that I was wanted to come home & she told me she would try to get me new flight out for me. After much effort & expense she got me a flight for the Friday. I will always be in Mum & Gene’s debt for getting me home so soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb