Thought I was going to die...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Sekondi-Takoradi
February 1st 2012
Published: February 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday night started out well, Gideon and I had dinner, mine wasnt very nice but I find that happens quite often so I didnt think anything of it, one of the students joined us and we had a great laugh then Gideon took me for a walk around Takoradi town which I enjoyed. I did not take the camera as it was late at night and I was concerned about security. I made friends with some local children, I watched local women cooking kelewele on the side of the road (fried plantain not just a nickname for me when I was a kid - Kelly Welly) and wathed local people go about their business.

My stomach rumbled loudly, REALLY LOUDLY and Gideon was tired so we headed back and that is when it started, I managed to get two calls in to Joe and my parents and then bam I was up all night with dioreah and vomiting, back and forth to the bathroom I didnt sleep all night at some point I noticed a grease mark on the door (photo attached) it looks like a cross I decided that death was coming to get me and I had been marked.

on tuesday I decided I still had to go to work as Mike was not arriving until lunchtime, Gideon and I set off but I was wretching so he turned around and took me back telling me that Mike would take over the course, I was too weak to argue. I phoned Mike and he agreed and told me to arrange a doctor which I hadnt even thought to do so.

I saw a doctor through International SOS, a European Doctor, he was very nice, he gave me antibiotics and even called me last night to check on me, he also said he would call me this morning too. I had probably picked up a parasite from the food - eurghh

Mike said if I felt better I could come and do the training this afternoon, I do feel much better, I dont think I can face food yet I have eaten one biscuit this morning and that has done me well...

I will leave you with the picture of the death mark, my crackers, and an actual picture of me by the Indian Ocean donated by my mum

Gideon said he always thought that was the Indian Ocean and is sorry for his mistake.... 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb