Have I Really Been Here Over Nine Months?


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the Beach at KetaOn the Beach at KetaOn the Beach at Keta

from "Have I Really Been Here Over Nine Months?" by Denise Ward
At 6:00 a.m. tomorrow morning, I hope to see a trotro to Accra stopping to pick me up beside the road at the top of the path to my home for the past seven weeks. Ready to be home and seeing family and friends, starting over with a new career (aka finding a job!), finding a home, purchasing a vehicle and paying over $4 per gallon (and rising!) for fuel, getting a phone and new cell phone plan - all the benefits and challenges of our society and culture. But, I will certainly miss this more simple but not so easy world.

I depart Accra tomorrow night for London, with a brief stop to change to another British Airways Boeing 747-400 bound for JFK in New York. My daughter, Micky, lives in Manhattan, and I will visit with her until the early morning of August 2nd, when I will depart for Denver, Colorado. From there, a two hour ride to Buena Vista, where I have never been (or Denver, for that matter!), to visit my cousin Bruce and his wife, Mary Lou, who will host a family reunion. On August 5, at 6:30 p.m., I am scheduled for landing at SeaTac Intl. airport in Seattle---woohoo! There, I expect to be met by a contingent of my Olympia family, probably Dad, Bev and Karma.

I have no idea what to expect, but by the time I get home, I will have experienced reverse culture shock in New York City - which I love, and am looking forward to all kinds of activity with Micky. So, Colorado and Washington should be quite easy to adjust to. Except, I'll have to do something with my hair, and get used to bare head without a bandana! I should have let my hair grow, and really surprise everyone. I've cut it several times, otherwise would be about shoulder length.

I've a few more blogs to post, and hope to do so from New York. Would be a bit anti-climactic after I get home, and I expect to be a bit busy when I return. Money has been going out for a long time with none coming in. Looking forward to seeing you all ASAP! Kathleen and I have talked about having a party at her house to see all my local friends, and anyone else who can come into Seattle for a casual gathering with simple food and great conversation.

I can't wait to have a scrumptious salad!

See you soon! Peace out from Ghana and Africa!

Love,
Deni

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb