Ghana 2008


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
May 16th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last full day in Ghana and I thought I would just relax and say goodbye to a few people. I should know by now that nothing goes to plan in Africa! I spent most of the day in the hospital from hell. Stephen that I know has a second cousin or some kind of relative that lives beside him. He is only 5 years old and called Johnny. Over the last 2 weeks I have seen him going about and thought he looked a bit ill but did not think too much about it intially. But yesterday when I was visiting, he was not in school and when I asked why, was told he was feeling too ill. His parents are not around - they are alive but don't live with him. His grandmother and aunt look after him.

He could not walk very well because his knees were swollen and his stomach was also badly swollen. I was told his parents had been called but had not arrived and his grandmother simply did not have the money to go to the Doctors. So after cutting short my visit to the school this morning, I set off to a local hospital with Johnny, his aunt and grandmother. I got some strange looks walking into the hospital but I'm used to that by now.

I know it's Africa, but you would not treat animals the way we were treated while waiting to see the Doctor. We had to wait about 3 hours in the stifling heat and trying to get any information from the nurses was almost impossible. If they could be bothered to raise their heads from the desk, they just kind of grunted and pointed to go to another desk, and another. All the patients have to be seen by the nurse first, in front of about 100 other patients.

After eventually being seen by a Doctor we were told to go and buy some medicine from the hospital pharmacy. But when I got there I was told to 'go to the town.' That was all I was told - no explanation that they did not have the medicine, just 'go to the town.' So I then had to go into town to get some medicine before heading back to the hospital. I know things are difficult here, but there is no excuse for the way the staff treat patients. In the end I did complain to one nurse who was more sympathetic and she did say that we should have been treated better.

Johnny has been kept in hospital - and will have to see another Doctor tomorrow morning. I will have to be at the hospital at around 8am before heading back to the hotel to get ready to leave. I am not happy that I have to leave before knowing he will be okay - but there is nothing I can do. I will leave money for his treatment and hope that everything goes okay. It's time's like these that I get really frustrated with Ghana - if I did not help, he would not get to see a Doctor, simple as that. His family have no money to pay for treatment so he would have been left to suffer.

I eventually got back to the hotel around 5.30pm - so much for an easy day! But I would rather he got treatment than me have time to say a few goodbyes. I was sad to say goodbye to the kids at Prince of Peace school this morning, but I am sure it's not the last I've seen of them. I didn't really say goodbye to the kids at the orphanage, mainly because I didn't have time, but also because they don't really understand when I say I'm not coming back next week.

Since returning from Ghana in March 2007, I don't think there is a day that I haven't thought about Africa in one way or another. When I first got home last year, I was desperate to come back and found it difficult to adjust back into 'normal' life. I don't think coming to Ghana totally changed my life because it didn't. I came home, went back to the same job and just carried on as normal. But it definitely makes you look at things differently - and I hope that I always feel like that.

Last time I was here, it was a total culture shock so it took quite a while to get used to life in Ghana. I think I was only adjusting to it as I was about to leave after 8 weeks. This time, I sort of knew what to expect so have had the time to try and learn more about the way things are here. It's difficult to explain how different things are from the western world - obviously some things are worse, but there are some aspects of life here that are better. Maybe life here is not better or worse - just different.

I have learned this time that giving gifts or money is not always a good idea. I know it sometimes seems that it's the only way to help - and I still think that it is the only way at times - but in general it does not help in the long run. I brought along a few gifts this time, nothing too expensive, but just wanted to treat a few people. I am glad that I did but it just leaves them thinking you have plenty money and will buy them more - sometimes even asking outright if you will buy them something. I don't find it easy to say no, and I only have myself to blame. The people I gave gifts to have nothing, and it's unlikey they have ever received a present - so for me to turn up with gifts is a big thing and although I know they are 100% grateful, they don't understand that they should not ask or expect more.

I've also found it difficult this time to tell if people are talking to me because they want to or if they see me as a cash machine or able to help them in some way. Everywhere I go I get stories of how people are praying to God for help to finish building work, buy books, computers etc etc. Maybe they are not indirectly asking me for help, but it leaves me wondering.

Having said all of this, I would not change my time here - I love this country and most people are friendly and genuine. It's good to walk along the street and have people greet you and smile. It's good to meet children who are polite and grateful for everything they get. The children are all so keen to learn, and know from a young age that the only escape from poverty is education. For me, that seems to be the biggest problem here - people need an education, but it's simply too expensive for most. I also worry when I see people, especially kids like Johnny, who are ill but cannot afford medical treatment. I'm not political, but the Ghana Government needs to do something about this.

So that is Ghana 2008, it's been different this time, but still great! I don't know yet if I will be back next year - but there's every chance for Ghana 2009!

Advertisement



15th May 2008

Poor Johnny
Poor wee Johnny. Hope they know what they are treating him for and giving him the right medicine. It must be very hard seeing a little boy obviously ill, and not getting any help.( Take him home with you!) I bet you wish you could, but you know from the last time that this goes on all the time over there, and there is not really anything you can do about that.Don't be late back from hospital or you'll miss your flight. See you Saturday.
3rd September 2008

Thank you
Ricky - I contacted you last year to find out about CCS before I went out in Jan this year. I read your blog then and cried and have just read this one and cried again. I had a great time and understand everything you say about Ghana. But I have a Ghana bug too - I am going back again in Jan for 3 months and cannot wait.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb