'Don't you worry.....'


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
May 8th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The locals often say to me 'Don't you worry......'

After typing my last blog, I headed straight for the hotel swimming pool to cool down because it was so hot. After the rain storm on Monday, the skies cleared and the heat has been unbearable. I was just getting ready to dive in the pool when I realised there was no water in it!!! The pool was being repaired. 'Don't you worry.....' said one of the hotel porters, 'it will be ready for you soon.' I'm still waiting. If you've ever been to Ghana you will know Ghana time is different from the rest of the world!

I met Stephen again on Tuesday night and he told me that on Tuesday morning his father called all the family together in the morning. He thought his father had something important to tell them....but he just wanted to share the shortbread that I gave him! I can just imagine them all gathered outside waiting for a big announcement - to then be handed some shortbread for breakfast!! But to them it was quite a big deal because I know they sometimes have to go without food. When I was here last year Stephen told me they had no food and were 'fasting' so along with another volunteer, Courtney, we brought him and his family some food.

After using the internet in town on Tuesday night we walked back to the hotel - it must be about 2/3 miles in the pitch black. It was then that Stephen decided to tell me that last year some of the volunteers were attacked and had their camera's and money stolen!! Fortunately I got home safe and sound. I have only seen one other white person so far in Ho. There were a lot of white volunteers last year but I seem to be about the only one this time - which creates a lot of stares and people shouting 'Yevu' or white man at me. I'm used to it though and just shout 'black person' back at them (in the local language)!

On Wednesday morning I was woken at 6am by G, calling me on my mobile. He was farming beside the old homebase where I lived last year. I brought him an old mobile phone and he was desperate to get it! So off I set at 6.30am to see him. There were about 6 local students all working before they go to school. They work from around 6am to 7.30am, then go home, wash and off to school. I struggle to get up for work at 8.45am, let alone get up and farm beforehand! When I arrived, G told me I should help them farm - so I was handed a hoe and told to start digging!! My feeble excuse that I was tired did not work so I got on with it - for about 2 minutes!

On Wednesday afternoon I went back to the orphanage and brought a football and some colouring pencils. The kids were not so quiet this time and were quick to run up and greet me. The youngest child, Elolo, just wants to constantly be picked up. I could take him home with me, no problem! Bernice, who runs the orphanage, asked me if I was married. When I said no, she then proceeded to ask if I would like a Ghana woman. She said 'Don't you worry......it can be arranged. No problem.' She wasn't joking either.

I was back to school this morning and most of the kids were back in class. I shouldn't have favourites, but one of my favourites, Freeman was back today and it was good to see him. The kids were no longer shy and quiet and were soon all over me. They are still obsessed with my hair and skin - although I did take exception to being told the skin on my arm was like that of a pigs! We spent the morning making a video to take back to a school in Scotland and also writing letters. This time next week I'll have said goodbye to them all again - I don't know if it's good for them or me!

The other day I got talking to one of the hotel porters, Dansu. It is very easy to get talking to people here and before you know it you are their best friend. There is always a part of me that is wary of people in case they are only after money but I think you just have to go by your instincts here and I can usually tell if someone is genuine. Anyway, he was telling me he lived in a small village just over the mountain at the back of the hotel. I love seeing where people live and how they live so it wasn't long before he invited me to meet his family. So this afternoon, at 2pm we set off to see his village which is called Zavia (I think). Before we left he said he had some things he wanted to discuss with me. I asked him what it was. 'Don't you worry......' he said. I started to worry.

However, as we set off he said that I should not have to pay to stay at the hotel because it was too expensive. He wanted to offer me a bed at his home so I was not spending too much money. I'm always scared I offend people here, but I managed to explain that I had paid for the hotel in full so it was not a problem. We arrived at the village and he showed me around. I was the only white person there which resulted in a lot of people shouting at him. I asked what they were saying and he said they were saying that he was a free man to be walking with a white man, and that he must be a gentleman to have the company of a white person. He explained that people in Ghana have a lot of respect for white people, and I think in a way, to be seen with one elevates your status. I know it's just the culture but it really annoys me that they feel they have to treat me like I am better than them. I am a guest in their country, and it's me that should be showing them respect (which I go out of my way to do!).

As he showed me around the village, as usual I was surrounded by kids singing and clapping 'Yevu!' He also said that they did not think my hair was real! Some other kids also said my hair was like 'toy hair!' He also showed me his 'house' which was as I expected. Just a brick shack, and as he opened the door a mouse ran across the floor! I've said this many times but I don't think I could ever live like that.

As I was leaving, his aunt appeared. She was very nice as usual but seemed a bit eccentric. She said the white man had all the knowledge and could I help her. I started to worry again! She then went on to say she was going through the menopause and could I help her! Help her - more like help me! I should also say, this is the edited version of what she said. I said I was not a Doctor so could not help but I thought it was normal what she was going through!!! She thanked me and seemed quite happy with my response!

However, despite the strange questions I really enjoyed seeing aroung the village and Dansu did not ask me for anything. I think that there are a lot of genuinely nice people here who just want to get to know you. I know some people reading this will be concerned about my adventures, but as they say here, 'Don't you worry......'


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb