Home Sweet Ho!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
May 4th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm finally back in Ho!! 1 year and 2 months after I left, I've made it back. When I first came to Ghana in January 2007 I thought it would be a one off - that I would never do it again, but after 8 weeks I knew I would have to come back one day. I met so many great people and had such an amazing time at Prince of Peace school and the SWODC orphanage that I had to come back.

There has been no internet access until today - due to the weather, so I have a lot to say.....

I think I felt more nervous about coming this time - I'm not sure why, probably because I was worried it would not be as good as I remembered or that something would go wrong. But I've only been back in Ho for a few hours and it's like I've never been away. It's surreal - I'm walking about the same dirt roads, seeing the same people and then there is the unique Ghana smell!

I left Aberdeen at 8am Saturday morning, just a slight delay due to a problem with the traffic collision control the pilot casually told us! But I arrived safely in London at 10am, then left for Accra at 2.30pm. I scored on the flight because the table at my seat was broken so I was upgraded - had a nice comfy seat with plenty of room and good food served (I think I will try and break the table for the way home!) Anyway, arrived in Accra at 8pm and managed to find the driver who was going to take me to the Paloma Hotel for one night before leaving for Ho on Sunday. As I got to the mini-bus another man turned up and seemed friendly enough at first - but then he started pointing to my pocket and asking for money to give to 'the chief' inside. I've no idea who the chief was but he wasn't getting any of my money! But he kept on and on, and in the end I took some change out of my pocket and gave it to him just to get rid of him - I know I shouldn't have but I just wanted to get to the hotel. And he only got about 50p if he's lucky! Accra airport is a scary place - there always seems to be someone trying to get money off of you.

The Paloma Hotel was nice enough - air conditioning which I had to turn off because it got too cold! On Sunday morning I got speaking to the security guard, Edmond who told me he was trying hard to find another job. He works 6am to 6pm, 7 days a week for about 40 pounds a month. He was really friendly but I'm not as naive this time and I know he may have been after some kind of help - but having said that he did not ask for anything. He said if I was ever back to Accra he would show me around! I've not really had much chance to go about Accra but there are people everywhere and the heat by 8.30am was unbearable. I saw one strange thing - there was a man washing himself more or less on the dual carriageway, at a stream of water that was running down a small hill. He just stripped off and started cleaning himself.....only in Ghana.

After a four journey I arrived in Ho at about 4.30pm on Sunday. I'm staying at Chances Hotel for 2 weeks which is total luxury compared to where I lived at last time with the charity, CCS. I have air con, hot water and a fridge. It's a bit strange however that just 5 minutes along the road lives a friend, Stephen, who lives in a mud hut with no electric or running water. When I returned to Scotland last year I often felt guilty about things like this, but there's no point - I cannot help where I was born or what I have, just as people here can't.

The charity homesbase where I lived last year has closed now and it was strange going back to visit because it was deserted. It was very run down and quiet compared to when I was there. Anyway, on Sunday I met Stephen and G - two of the people I met last year and both who helped me a lot. They are 2 of the nicest people you coud meet and I could see their smiles before I could see them! They are both still students who really want to achieve something but in reality I'm not sure what will happen because it's so difficult here without money. I treated them both to supper at the hotel I am staying at. This was only the second time Stephen has eaten at a hotel (the first time was when I was here last year) and it was the first time G had ever eaten at a hotel. It was pretty funny to watch as they did not really understand what a menu was and do not eat with forks and knives so were both struggling a bit - and both started to laugh because it was so strange to them!! G had to ask what the bottle of tomato sauce was - he had never seen or heard of it before. It cost around 8 pounds for three meals and drinks - and they were shocked at how expensive this was! I've tried explaining it's not that much in my country but it's very difficult to explain when they have nothing and I do understand that it is a lot of money for them both.

At the meal I gave them watches that my mum bought them and they were amazed - G said it was one of the 'most memorable days' of his life! They were going to wear the watches and tell everyone that they were the only watches of this kind in Ghana. They were not expensive wathces but meant the world to them.

Yesterday (Monday) I went back to the orphanage I visited last year - it is due to close in November, but the kids are being sent to various boarding schools so should be okay. When I went in the kids all ran up to greet me, but were also very quiet. I suppose it has been a long time since I've seen them but they did remember my name. It was good to see them - the youngest orphan, Elolo does not seem to have grown at all and is still as cute as ever! I will go back a few times before I leave to play with them all.

Yesterday afternoon there was a thunderstorm and it rained like crazy, I'm hoping it's not going to be like that everyday. Later in the afternoon I went to visit Stephen and his parents. His dad is 86 and his mum is about 75. The whole family live in a couple of mud huts with an outside kitchen and bathroom. There is no running water or electric - I can not imagine living like this, but they have never known anything different. Neither Stephen's mum or dad both can read, write or speak English - but are both really nice and welcoming. I had brought them some small gifts - not much, just shortbread for his dad and a necklace for his mum. I think they found the whole thing very strange as they have probably never received a gift before, and could not understand what was happening. But I could tell they were happy.

This morning I went back to Prince of Peace school - I had forgotten how difficult it was to try and work in this heat - by 8.30 am I was sweating from every place possible. Probably too much information. I felt a bit nervous going back to the school but it was good walking back into the classroom. The kids were also a bit quiet to begin with - one of them told me it was because they missed me too much and did not know what to say! But after a couple of hours they were back to normal - and asking me to take them to Scotland again! They have been writing letters back and fore to pupils in Scotland so I had more letters for them and a video of the school in Scotland to show them. We also made a video to take back with me to the school in Scotland.

Over the last year I've been fundraising to build a new class room at the school - the work has started but there is still a lot to do and the prices of materials is getting more and more expensive here so I will have to keep trying to fundraise to get it finished. School has not really started yet - they have been on holiday so I did not teach anything today but I will be back a few times to help out a bit.

Okay- I've said enough and the swimming pool at the hotel is calling me!

Advertisement



6th May 2008

Hi Ricki - I have read your first diary account with such interest. It certainly takes me back and I can picture and (almost) smell Ho / Ghana as I read. Are you doing the coast again and Woe or Kakum? Did Marco not meet up with you at the airport? So many questions! Oh - how you must be enjoying Chances Hotel too :o) Looking forward to the next instalment. Vicky
7th May 2008

so great
Ricki, your blog is great, it made me feel like i was back in ho. love to everyone, and please give elolo a big hug. Have a wonderful time!! Abby N.
7th May 2008

Hello!
Hi Ricki, Glad to know that you have arrived safely - without being ambushed at the airport! The blogs are great entertainment - cant you stay a few weeks longer to add a few more "chapters"- I could easily get used to reading them on a daily basis again?!! (Honestly that's the only reason I ask!) You are missing a mini heatwave in Costa Del Banff - it's been 3 whole days of sunshine, however I bought sun cream iday so I expect that's the last we will see o' the big yalla thing! I hope you really enjoy the rest of your stay - not many people would choose to spend their hard-earned holidays - and cash - doing what you are doing to benefit others. And when you return home you can teach my daughter just how privileged she really is to live in this country, and that it really isn't a catastrophe if the tomata sass is finished and I forgot to buy another bottle! A' the best Ricki - take care, C u soon, Iso :)

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb