Day Fifteen; Thursday, March 20 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 19th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and was off to Christ Orphanage. I skipped eating pineapple for the second day in a row, which is actually very exciting and unusual here. Pete and I are now expecting that I get the "scurves" or the "vurvies" (scurvy to everyone else) because it's now been two days since I have had this staple food group.

When we went to Christ we took the youngest class to the river where they were all too afraid to go in the water. When they finally decided to hop in, they all stripped naked and started to pee in the shoreline. They all threw their clothes and flip flops into a big pile and I was really surprised to see nothing was lost in the end. Oh, Ghana 😊 As I held a little kid in the water I could feel it starting to get warm. Yep, Emmanuel peed on my back. Not the first time, and I'm sure it won't be the last.

When we got back home I ran some errands in town and actually found Coca Cola Light which was beyond exciting.

Another volunteer, Diana, was talking about her orphanage and she told me some pretty disturbing things. At Eugemot Orphanage, four year old kids run aroudn with mashetis (long long long sword knives) chasing animals. The older boys are commanded to cut the lawn using mashetis which is actually pretty humorous.

We played Palace later in the evening and went to Malaysia's for Jess' (a volunteer that is leaving) last drink. We hopped in a taxi on the way home that was already taken and went home. It's crazy to think that when you go out at night a shot costs you only ten cents instead of $6.00.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb