Day Six; Monday, March 11 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 11th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early and got ready to go to the Ghana Consulate. Jen walked me to tram 9 which was the train to the embassy. I bought my ticket to Schipol before I left and found the embassy with ease. I met some very nice people in the waiting room, and two nuns gave me their breakfast when they found out I had coffee. I made my way to the tram to try and catch the 10:58 am bus/train but got lost and ended up taking a connection from Leiden to Schipol. When I was on a moving ramp in the airport, my luggage fell and caused a traffic accident. The people behind me all tripped and their luggage also toppled everywhere. Ahh...typical.

While getting a new ticket the woman at the counter informed me I needed to pay 200 Euro ($300) to move my flight to Tuesday from Wednesday. I have never been so relieved as when she realized she was wrong. Once I was FINALLY on the plane to Accra, I watched European Vacation and actually laughed! When I finally got to the airport, I grabbed my luggage that had been in Accra since Friday, and the security worker yelled at me saying that he deserved Cedis (Ghanian currency) for watching my bags. I laughed in his face and left.

So when I was FINALLY on my way to Hohoe, I witnessed a bus accident. A person laid dead on the side of the road. To warn traffic, the people laid palms on the street. Welcome to Ghana!

Running water, working toilets, some electricity, pretty much as I expected.

Miss you all.
Love.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb