Dust Bowl of 2009


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
January 29th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So as Ive mentioned in the past, we are in the middle of the dry season here in Ghana. I found that really hard to believe when I got off the plane and almost suffocated from the humidity, however it is definitely in full swing now. Even the Ghanaians are saying this is one of the worst dry seasons they’ve had in a long time. It’s the Dust Bowl of 2009. The orange dirt covers EVERYTHING! You know how snow turns trees white in the winter? Well here all the plants along the highway are orange from the dust from the cars. Today I just had enough and couldn’t handle it any longer. I sent my sheets to the laundry in the other ISH hostel because I could feel the dirt as I slept. Then I went down to the porter’s lodge downstairs and begged them to let me borrow their broom and mop. The dirt was so thick I could write my name in the floor. I had to change the bucket of water three times and I still didn’t get the floor very clean. It seems kind of pointless now because I did that this afternoon and the floor is dirty again. Swifer could make a fortune here. The worst part is that its making my allergies flare up. Everyone is walking around all stuffed up and sneezing all day. It helps that everyone is feeling it, so its not just that I’m not used to the weather here.
One thing that’s interesting here is cell phone etiquette. Most cell phones (mine included) are prepaid and there are vendors all over the place trying to sell you minutes. They all have free incoming calls so its better to have people call you rather than you call them. They do this thing called “flashing” which is where they will call you, then hang up right after it rings. This way you will see you have a missed call from them and know you should call them. Its intended to be a way of saying that you are out of minutes but would like to talk to someone. The problem is that its abused and sometimes you will get flashed like 5 times in a row. Also they talk to each other on the phone a lot. I think its maybe because they don’t really have internet so they don’t have things like email or facebook. It’s a little strange talking to new friends on the phone just to chat it up, Im so used to phone conversations that have a purpose. Also how we say things like “Oh Ill call you later!” they really will call you later, its not just a polite thing to say. I accidentally offended one of my friends because I told them I would call when I got back to my hostel and I didn’t call right away so they got a little upset. It doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but there are a lot of different unwritten rules about phones that Im still trying to figure out.

My roommate Megan went home. She was having a really difficult time adjusting plus her grandfather was really sick so she decided she needed to leave. I understand she needed to do what was best for her and her family, but I miss her already!! Its odd coming into the room with one half empty. She was going to just throw her sheets away but I asked her if she could keep them on the bed. The mattresses are kind of gross here and I think it would be really depressing having to look at it. Megan, I wish you the best and I hope you have a great semester! Keep in touch.

Today I had my first real lecture. The material is interesting, but sitting in a lecture hall for 2 hours is tough on anyone. The lectures hold about 500 people usually, and they often dont have desks. Its just chairs and you have to take notes on your lap. Today I was sitting in my lecture with it being about 100 degrees outside, no AC of course, and sweating like crazy. The girl sitting next to me is powdery fresh and asks me "Why are you sweating so much?"...seriously? Ghanaians must think Americans are really gross. I dont see how they do it, they can even wear white and look fresh and clean all day. I walk outside for 10 minutes and Im soaking wet and covered in red dirt. How do they do it?!

Well this weekend we have a trip planned to go to Cape Coast, so I will have to let you all know how that goes and put more pictures up


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb