Just another week really


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello! So I have noticed that my writing has become more sporadic these last couple weeks, and I am absolutely aware of the reason: the heat. The dry season has hit Ghana with a vengeance, and it is hard enough to drink my usual 3 cups of instant coffee per day and go for a run, let alone make the walk across campus to use the computer. Instead of my usual internet walks, I have been substituting extra reading, extra wine and cheese parties with the girls, and extra adventures. Anyway, the internet here has been painfully slow as of late, and my patience (and also my vocabulary) have been decreasing steadily over the past few weeks. On the sunny side of things, I am finally beginning to walk as slow as Ghanaians thanks to the heat, quite the feat! This morning I went to a café about 20 minutes away to do some reading, falafel eating, followed by vegetable buying at a roadside stand. I ran into two students here at the University that I have befriended, and often the greater Accra area feels a lot like home (even though the constant “obruni obruni ete sen” and the constant cab honks remind me that I am far from home), however, I am getting comfortable replying “a-yay, na-won-swe” or “do I look like I want a ride???” depending on the situation, haha.

Let’s see: I sent in my absentee ballot this past week…first time voting in a presidential election. Here in Ghana, there are rumors that finals here will begin one week early so that they will be over by election day (we are told this is because some professors will be fleeing the country….)

A girl here who has been sick for over a month with a mutant strain of malaria and multiple parasites is leaving to go back home this week 

Two students in my group got malaria last week, and both are feeling better already.

Only one more week of dance classes! (I think, information here is unreliable and changes often) who’s excited to see me gota and kpatsa when I get home????

In horrible news: I took my camera to a guy in one of the lecture halls here who fixes electronics, since my camera has been broken. Well, that was two weeks ago. Last time I went to check on it, it was in over 100 pieces, literally, in an egg sandwich bag…AH!!! I am supposed to check in again tomorrow, and hopefully, hopefully, hopefully, my camera will be in one piece?? Sigh, cameras here are over 300 cedis here, so I don’t think there is any chance of me buying one here. Luckily, with the powers of the internet I will be able to get a hold of friend’s pictures in December.

I am itching to travel somewhere again soon. I had a chance to go to Togo this week and passed it by, thinking that because my dance classes are ending next week that this week would be important…wrongggggg. There are international students here who are flying to Egypt, Kenya, South Africa, Mali, etc. in the coming weeks….someday when my budget allows!

A girl here in my USAC group has begun dating a guy here who she has been friends with for months. The one funny thing: his father is a pastor here and she is atheist…
Another USAC girl here has been dating a fabulous student from Mozambique who is writing his dissertation here. (Perry I miss you!)

I have plans to listen to the recorded music of a guy in my dance class, should be fine. However, I am feeling rather lethargic and may save it for another day.

Miss you all

Love love love
Kristin


Advertisement



23rd October 2008

Hey Kristin, you SOUND less energetic! So, think of it this way...the highs are now in the 50s and falling all the time. I would love to feel that sun and we haven't even gotten to November yet!!! It is going to be a tough winter for you given the temps that you will leave there coming home in December. Perry will need to work extra hard to keep you warm. I can't wait to see you gota and kpasta!!! How are you feeling?? Sorry about the camera.
23rd October 2008

why?
why are some profs fleeing the country? for how long? do they talk about it in your classes? i feel bad for the girl you said is going home. that is sad. also i feel bad for your camera. that is sad too. guess what, pretty soon it will be thanksgiving and then christmas! i can't believe it is so hot there...you'd be miserable here...it's been so cold!!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb