Kakum, Accra and a zoo!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 11th 2006
Published: June 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

KakumKakumKakum

No one shake the bridge!
I have spent the last day and a half running around the southern half of Ghana trying to fit in as much sightseeing and adventure as humanly possible, and I think I succeeded.

First went up to the Kakum National Park and man oh man this place rocked! I sort of overcame my nasty fear of heights and pretty much ran across the super high rope bridges that scour high above the tree lines. By high, I mean really insanely high. It was such an amazing time and the sights of the surrounding rain forest will stay with me for a long time. They park itself is host to a bountyful of various animals, but I didn't really spot any along the forest floor. Well, I think I spotting the butt of an elephant once, but like I said earlier, I was really high up (and scared of falling sometimes). The slight breeze would swing the bridge ever so slightly, but at least there wasn't many people there when I went, so I didn't hold anybody up as I death-gripped the rope. Birds flew everywhere and it was truly like setting foot in a whole new world.

After that
AccraAccraAccra

Right smack dab in the art centre
I took a trip over to Accra, the capital of Ghana. It was a fairly long taxicab ride there, taking a couple of hours, but I was like a bouncy kid going to the zoo! Why? Because I stopped at the Ghana zoo and saw a bunch of animals! Some of the cages were a tad small, like most zoos, but being the animal lover I am it was cool to see some new neat looking creatures for the first time.

After that, me and my cabbie, Lucky, went and had more goat-kabobs at a local cafe. I'm hooked on them, that and rice with a coconut milk sauce....oh yeah I was loving it. Once our bellies were filled to the maximum I wandered around downtown Accra, and spent a lot of time in the district of Osu. This is a mainly tourist area and is close by to the awesome sites of the Art Centre and Liberation Square. Beautiful parks and statues were all around, and some of the art, objects and tidbits sold in the local stores were amazing as usual. I hate being poor, as I couldn't afford some of the wonderful paintings and carvings. I'll
KakumKakumKakum

Rainforest everywhere
put it on the “to do” list later on in life.

Once again I was blessed with great weather, but I didn't have time to head down to the fantastic looking beaches for a swim. I'm off to work again, heading back into Nigerian waters and then on the way to The Congo. That will hopefully be my final port of call, and I want to spend at least a day wandering around there. I hear they have a great surf bar and an upbeat nightlife. After that, I'm off back home. Of course everything could change, and I may want to spend a few more days exploring, but it all depends on how tired I am, and how much cash I have left.

So....till next entry! Keep your beer cold now people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

StatuesStatues
Statues

The front yard of a home I passed. Might have been a hotel though.
ZooZoo
Zoo

*roar* kitty!
ZooZoo
Zoo

Awww they are so cute!
ZooZoo
Zoo

Bird with a brain the size of a peanut
ZooZoo
Zoo

Almost like the ones back home
ZooZoo
Zoo

This cat wants out
ZooZoo
Zoo

Look he wants to go home with me :)
AccraAccra
Accra

Random shot of a building
AccraAccra
Accra

Osu the tourist district
AccraAccra
Accra

Statue of the first king of Ghana
AccraAccra
Accra

A market street right in downtown
AccraAccra
Accra

Close up of the square
KakumKakum
Kakum

I'm definately going here again
KakumKakum
Kakum

Main entrance area
KakumKakum
Kakum

More rainforest
KakumKakum
Kakum

One of the many paths crisscrossing the ground
KakumKakum
Kakum

That is one big tree!
KakumKakum
Kakum

Watch that first step!


14th July 2006

great photos
I am going to Ghana in Jan. Thanks for the wonderful photos! Am looking forward to visiting the country. Ann
17th August 2009

An Ape called Joe Blackie
Can you confirm that Accra Zoo had a Ape called Joe Blackie in 1978, and that he smoked cigrattes. John

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb