A Grateful Heart


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 9th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DonationsDonationsDonations

Packing YOUR donations...thank you:)
Greetings, everyone! I hope you are doing great! Well, tomorrow is the big day—and I can honestly say I feel as ready as I could ever be. I have spent the last year reading all I could get my hands on, talking to everyone under the sun (both here and in Ghana), watching documentaries, etc etc….and now I am so excited the time is here!

These last two weeks have been wild with preparations, but at the same time of the craziness, I have been overwhelmed by your support and kindness. Whether your encouragement has been through prayers, donations, well-wishes, phone calls, notes, etc., I greatly appreciate them all, and it is people like you who give me hope. You are the best!

I have one bag of your donations ready to bring with me….and we should now have enough money to buy the AIDS clinic a microscope…THANK YOU!!! Friends, family, strangers and students (who have enough loans to worry about😊 alike have overwhelmed me with thoughtfulness. I am amazed and in awe of how generous you have been towards people across the world who you most likely will never meet and yet, who you will impact soo much with your kindness. I hope to share with you in the future some of the stories and lives of individuals you have impacted.

To my friends and mentors---thanks for all of your help and support in this long planning process! It has consumed my life for a bit, and I’m sure I’ve been yacking your ears off about it😊 To my family---I thank you for supporting my dream to go to Africa and I have enjoyed these last two weeks immensely…it meant soo much to me to have 4 generations of the O’Bs at my graduation, and for those of you who could not make it, I cannot thank you enough for your emails, notes, and phone calls!

Each of you has touched my life in a unique way and I am so grateful for the love with which you have surrounded me. No matter who you are or where you are, let’s go rock the world! Alright, this is starting to sound like my graduation speech--haha--so enough talk about Ghana…let’s go experience it😊

Advertisement



10th June 2006

You will fall in love with Ghana
Hello Kaite, I am thinking of you today as you begin your trip to Ghana, and thinking back to two years ago on June 4 when I was taking the same journey. I know that you are going to have such a wonderful experience in Ghana, you will learn and grow, you will find great empathy for people who go without so much but who are so rich in culture and family and friendships. Your heart will be touched like never before and you will never be the same again! Ghanaians are the most wonderful people on the face of the earth and as you hear people on the streets yell to you "Akwaaba Obruni" you will realize the depth of their friendliness. As they engage you in conversation to try out their Engilish, you will love their openess and honesty. When the little children examine your hands and fingers amazed at the color of your skin and call you miss and tell you their names, you will fall in love! God bless you during this time. I hope you will have the opportunity to meet some of my friends in Ghana! I look forward to your blogs!
10th June 2006

Connections/Community
I am connected with Ghana now because of YOU, who are investing sacred energy in going there. This country will never again be only a geography footnote or even a name in news headlines. Thank you for building a community to take with you there.
12th June 2006

Hi Katie!
Hi Katie, I enjoyed reading your entry...I hope you made it to Ghana as scheduled...How was the flight? Was it what you expected to see? Let's stay in touch! Manny :)
12th June 2006

Katie! I miss you so much already! St. Louis and especially Campus Ministry (yes, I still go and bug sister pat) are not the same without you. I am so excited for you and this amazing experience you are undertaking this summer! You are in my thoughts and prayers, and I know you will be doing amazing things this summer with all of your incredible talents! I love and miss you! Big Hugs, Kisses, Prayers, and Love- Claire p.s. Remeber to think of how cool Claire is...hehe ;)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb