Gearing up for Ghana!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
May 27th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

katiekatiekatie

Myself and my awesome sis Kelly (who is going to Israel this summer:)
I'm getting ready for Ghana and am super excited! In less than 2 weeks I will go from Iowa to Amsterdam to Accra, Ghana....it is hard to believe the time is almost here---I have been talking about this for so long that it's almost surreal that it is right around the corner finally! This cultural experience and my time with the AIDS patients of Accra will inevitably be the hardest thing I have ever done in my life, and yet, I feel so incredibly grateful for the amazing people I will meet in Ghana and for the many life lessons they will teach me. This is definitely a chance of a lifetime, and I thank you for supporting me in this endeavor! Thanks, too, for all of the donations for the AIDS clinic....I have been overwhelmed by your generosity, and your support will inevitably have great impact on those who would otherwise have little access to healthcare. Thank you!
Please take care and while I am away, please keep me posted on your lives!!! Love to all!😊 ~Katie

Advertisement



31st May 2006

Good Luck
Katie, I heard about your trip from Sister Solanus. Just wanted you to know that I will keep you in prayer as you begin this awesome ministry. BLESSINGS!!! Sister Marianna
31st May 2006

Safe Travels!
Katie: Safe travels and blessings to you as you head out in a couple of weeks. I am looking forward to your insights, humor, wisdom and travel log over the next few months. Jane
31st May 2006

Wow Katie, one minute you're graduating in St. Louis, the next you're in Ghana working with AIDS patients! Sorry I didn't catch you in St. Louis while I was there, but I hope you had a fun time celebrating with your family for graduation. Apparently we had a lot of catching up to do, because I had no clue you were traveling to Africa...lol. But best of luck to you, I know you'll learn a lot and make a handful of people's lives a little brighter! P.S. I hope you can put your oceanography skillz to good use!
31st May 2006

You are My iInspiration!
Katie! I am so inspired by you...you go girl! And have a great time in Ghana-take it by storm. We are all here praying for you and with you as you begin this new journey, and I can't wait to hear about your experiences...lots of love, honey! Danielle
2nd June 2006

You rock -- I bet you sing in the rain, don't you?
Katie, YOU inspire ME. One of my favorite things is to see someone take a bite out of life. A humorist once said, "Don't grab the bull by the horns. Take him by the tail; then you can let go anytime you want to." No, the real deal is to take life by the horns (oops--is that a Dodge slogan?). Thanks for modeling that. So while I'm leading my humdrum little life, play it big on this internship! :) P.S./random: What's with Brian's "oceanography skillz" reference??? Hugs, Ron
3rd June 2006

Hey darlin'! Best of luck. I'm looking forward to living vicariously through you and your blog this summer! Peace and prayers. ~Elizabeth
3rd June 2006

Thanks!
Katie, Thanks for coming up with an awesome way for us to keep in touch with you and for you to keep in touch with us! I look forward to seeing your story unfold! Gina :)
6th June 2006

West Pine will miss you :-)
Katie, you're my hero!!! Have a great time, enjoy every second, even the really hard ones. Todd and I will be thinking about you and saying prayers for you and all the people you will be helping. Take care and can't wait to hear about your trip!
7th June 2006

Sending ya love!
Katie, just want to send ya some love and let you know how special you really are! You also prove to the rest of the world that one person can make a difference! You are a living example of what true courage and compassion is! Alan and I will be praying for you and send you blessings abundance! Keep on rockin chica! We love you! By the way, love your travel blog site! Great idea!
8th June 2006

Your in for the time of your life
I went to Ghana two years ago to visit friends and came back a changed person. Although Ghana is such a poverty stricken country, you will never in your life meet nicer people. Even the poorest of the poor will say that they won't complain because there are others who have less than they do. Some things that will be hard to get used to---Men stop and pee alll over--no modesty. The outdoor bathrooms are just cement blocks that are about chest high, you pay to go, go in and stand on a cement block and lean back and do your job. Be used to men watching when you go in there because you are white, but you will get used to it. Do not drink anything or even brush your teeth with anything but bottled water. I took one sip of water from a glass that was offered to me by the chief of a village that I visited and got Giardia--it was very nasty. People will yell "Akwaaba Obruni" at you all the time, they are saying welcome white skin. They are wonderfully friendly. you will love them! If you want to buy souvineers in Accra, stop little kids on their way to or from school and ask if they have necklaces to sell. They previously had to pay to go to school so some of the teachers taught the kids to make beautiful beaded necklaces and they sell them inexpensively, about $1 each. When you go to buy something, you barter for it, and being white they will think you are rich, so will start at a very high rate. Ask a local young man if they will do the bartering for you and he will get a much better rate. Have clothes made there--I went and bought fabrics and had a seamstress make me 5 dresses, total cost about $50! They are absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. When you send your laundry out, do not include your underwear, that is an insult to the laundy lady. Do not extend your left hand when passing food, or shaking hands. That hand is considered unclean because you are supposed to use that hand to wipe yourself after going to the bathroom. When In Accra go to Frankies in Osu to eat--it is so cool! When In Kumasi go to Vic Baboo's! YOu will see many crippled or blind people beggin in the street and notice that even the poorest people give them a token, so feel free to do that also. That is how those people survive. Take tons of pictures, but ask permission before taking pictures of people. Also, you may have to get people to laugh so they are smiling when the picture is taken. They normally will just have a very sober look on their face! If you get to go to Mole park, be sure to go! It was a terrible ride there, but when I got up in the morning and saw 20 elephants coming to the watering hole, it was well worth it. Be sure to take a walking hike with an armed guide, you will walk very close to elephants, wort hogs, monkeys and baboons, and several species of deer! The Kakum forest in Cape Coast is a must do. You walk above the tree tops on a suspension bridge and it is so awesome. I am terrified of heights, but once I got started and looked down on all the birds and butterflies it was well worth it! When you land in Accra at the airport keep a close watch on your luggage because there are guys there who will take it and make you pay to get it back. I found that if you jsut struggle on your own with it you are better off. If someone tries to take it from you yell as loud as you can at them and it scares them off! You are in for the time of your life--you will love Ghana and always want to go back. I was there in 2004 and am going back in June of 2007! My body came home from Ghana but I left my heart there! Have a wonderful trip and don't worry about safety, you will be so safe and taken care of there!
8th June 2006

WOW
Katie, what can I say about you that already has not been said on here?! Seriously, you are an inspiration....you have one of the biggest hearts I know of, and I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers while you are over there. I know my experience in Spain this summer will pale in comparison to what you'll be doing and experiencing in Ghana, but we'll have to share stories nonetheless. Take care sweetie...and can't wait to hear all about everything!
8th June 2006

Happy Travels
I love you!
12th June 2006

the Welcome
Hey Katie--How are you?? I can't believe you are in Ghana now! I hope all is well, can't wait for pictures...only then will i believe it:) love you always, K

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb