2) Accra


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
February 14th 2010
Published: February 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 5, Friday, Jan 29st



After Breakfast we went to the money changer. I changed $400 at a rate of 1.37. On the way there, my new friend, James, made a ‘free’ bracelet for me. I asked Colleen how much I should pay for it. She said 1 cede. When I came out of the exchange James approached me with another present, a key chain. He asked me the names of my children. I gave him 1 cede and said I didn’t want any more. He was not happy but greeted me later in the day with a big smile and a “Hi Norm”.

Around 10:30 we drove to CUA to meet the staff there. The meeting took place in a large room and about 20 CUA people and our 12 were there. We all introduced ourselves and ‘Willie’ ,2ic, welcomed us after a prayer. They made us feel very welcomed. The Treasurer, BB, then made a ppt presentation on the state of finances at CUA. Mr. Darko was not available for the meeting

We had lunch and then returned to the hotel.

Around three we went for a walk to get our phones charged with cash. I took a picture of a little girl and gave her a rocket candy, she didn’t know how to open it. I also took a picture of a guy with a sewing machine on his head, he was not pleased!

For dinner we went to Ryan’s Irish Pub. It was great (and the last western food I was to see for 2 wks).

Day 6, Saturday 30st



We went to the main market in Accra. Holy cow, what a zoo. I was called Daddy or Poppa by all the vendors. Shawn, one of the other coaches is in his late 20s, was called Bra. The women, depending on age are called auntie or sister.

I felt like the ‘popular girl in high school’, people couldn’t keep their hands off of me. The place is a ramshackle of tin roofs and lean-tos with narrow alleys all crammed with vendors. It looks like a scene out of Monty Python’s Life of Brian. You never pay the opening price and usually the final deal is at about 50%!o(MISSING)riginal asking price. It was hot, dusty and a lot of fun. I walked away from one vendor and he came
Central HotelCentral HotelCentral Hotel

The place where we all gathered for breakfast and later Beer
running after me 5 minutes later to make the deal for two wooden mask carvings. I never had so many ‘friends’.

After the market gauntlet we sat down for a beer and still the vendors came to us. I then bought a few things sitting down. They were relentless.



Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Central HotelCentral Hotel
Central Hotel

This is where we stayed while in Accra
cute little girlcute little girl
cute little girl

Marci gave her a candy and I took her picture after asking her mother
Head GearHead Gear
Head Gear

This guy was not happy to have his picture taken
Street AccraStreet Accra
Street Accra

open sewer
Fun Times PromisedFun Times Promised
Fun Times Promised

A Funeral announcement


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb