First Impressions


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first impression of Ghana is the overwhelmingly friendly people! The first night of our stay in Accra I met these two guys, Richard and Stevenson. They took me to the local chop bar and fed me Benku with a hot chilli pepper sauce. Benku looks like bread dough. You eat it with your fingers, dipping it in the sauce; it has a slight sour taste to it.

We've spent the first week in the capital, Accra. We were met off the plane by Vincent, Nathaniel and Silvia, our tour guide, driver and project leader and mum for our stay. They were from SYTO (Student Youth Travel Organization), a Ghanaian group who deal with most of the volunteers who come to Ghana.

The temperature has been around the mid 30s and pretty humid. As soon as you do anything physical you’re covered in sweat. I went to a Salsa club in Accra and within minutes I was soaked. They love dancing out here, nearly all the guys we met in Accra were really good dancers. Dance seems to be fundamental within their culture. We've had a taste of a dance from Accra called 'Fume Fume' which is a dance to a drum beat and chanting, which we also had a go at.

During our stay in I had my first experience of Ghanaian football on a visit to the beach, they love it out here and they were good. One of the guys called Sami and his brother Don came to our hostel later and played a mixture of English and Ghanaian tunes from his car. It still felt just like a holiday. We've arrived in Achiase and met our host family but have yet to start work.

I'll update more soon! Oh yeah, I'm loving the food out here!

Advertisement



1st September 2008

HI !!!
HI Jack !!!! Nice to have news about you and your trip! I hope everithing is OK fot you! i'm in Toulouse, a town near to Bordeaux to spend some days with my boyfriend!!! I'll come on your blog often to have news from your extraordinary trip!! I'll really do it also!!!!Have good time there. I have send to you a postcard from Paris !!!! See you soon !! Bisous et à bientôt! Cécile.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb