Arrived safely - de tox s


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello
I have obviously arrived okay and finding my feet although I am struggling to remember names as I have probably been introduced to about 20 people already!!

I had a good flight and managed to catch up on some sleep which I needed after the numerous farewell dinners etc.Thank you to everybody for a great send off and all the good luck messages.The Zambia team were on the flight so there were television and radio crews to greet them.There were also dancers and drummers.27 degrees and humid on arrival.I sailed through customs with my 3 big bags and met a few volunteers in the airport including Arthur who is volunteering for the academy but has moved to another area.Patrick and Jacob met us and after a half hour drive we arrived at my new home.I was greeted by the whole family and my new surrogate mum ,Nana is lovely.Albert and Rodney are 17 and 14 respectively and Eugenia is 21.I am still trying to talk to the youngest 2 children but I have not seen much of them.
Hit the sack by midnight and restless night as new noises etc.Resident cockeral was awake by 6 and I heard the kids get ready for school at 5 so my sleeping habits will need to change.Alex from the academy popped over at 9 to meet me and then at 10 Patrick,Jacob and Arthur arrived.We walked to the academy to meet Martin who set it up and the other main coached Chris and Seth.Martin explained about our roles and I attend the senior training sessions Tues-Fri from 6-8am and the juniors from 3-5pm.He has managed to get 40 tickets for Ghanas 2nd and 3rd matches plus one for me for the opening ceremony and first match.I the showed them the boots , footballs and goalie gloves etc which went down very well.P,J,A and I then got a tro tro into Accra.Tro tro is the name given to minibuses and vans etc that fill to the brim and transport people around.We had a minibus which took about an hour to reach the centre.I changed some money and bought a Ghana shirt so that I can blend in.We caught a tro tro back and then home as I needed an early night.I finally managed to have a shower which I deperately needed.There is no piped water so they buy the water and it is brought in by lorry and kept in a huge water tank in the garden.There is a shower cubicle with a tap and the cold water is a relief rather than a handicap !!
Now I hear you all cry - what about the toilet? Well it's good news, bad news - we have a western style toilet but the flush is broken so we use a bucket to fill the cistern.Could be a whole lot worse.
I had rice and spicy chicken for dinner followed by plantains.I am drinking lots of water as it was 31 and humid.I may need food parcels!! I have been given a sim card and have texted a few people back home.I was in bed by 8.30 after filling in my journal.Slept much better.

Up this morning at 5 and after a mouthful of bread Albert walke me to the pitch for trainng.I just watched today but was introduced to the players after the session..The coach is Ebernezer and there are some very good players.The pitch is red mud and very uneven.The volunteers and coaches are playing the seniors on Friday at 3.30 so I may need my head torch for the second half as it gets dark very quickly.
I will be heading off to the supermarket to get some bits and then a rest before this afternoons session.

First impressions - the people are very friendly and I feel very safe.There are chickens, goats , dogs and a few cats wandering the streets but at a very leisurely pace.It is hot and humid but I am sure I will get used to it soon.Accra was a typically hectic city but I have heard the beaches are nice so hope to head there soon.

All for now.Keep in touch x

Advertisement



15th January 2008

Hi
Great to hear that you got there okay. Look forward to seeing some of your photos. If I were you I'd shoot the cockerel and phone for a plumber! All the best Flo xxx
15th January 2008

Safe Arrival
Good to hear from you. Good luck with the early calls - perhaps you could shoot the cockerel and then eat it - though maybe you already did eat one of them. Ha ha.!! A proper loo is a definite plus in spite of the flushing difficulty. Enjoy yourself. Love Janet
15th January 2008

Hello
Glad you got there ok Coral and to hear you seem to be settling in well. It sounds amazing. Looking forward to the next installment and some photos. Sal xx
15th January 2008

Glad you arrived safely !
Coral, we are glad to hear you got there safely and you have settled in well despite being woken up so early ! I wouldn't want to be the one waking you up at 5.a.m !!! Hope everything goes smoothly for you and you are enjoying yourself, take care, with love, Vicky and Ian, James and Chantelle.x.
15th January 2008

Greetings
Hello there. Boy I would change rolls and get some of that heat right now. It is raining cats and dogs here and flood risks high again in the usual places. Great that you met up with some other volunteers and sound like you have got everything sussed, more or less! I shall jump in the shower tonight and give thanks for not only water but warm water! Take care and lookafter yourself. Love from Alison M.
15th January 2008

glad to hear all OK
well your weather sounds much like Queensland weather. Keep your head cool and lots of water to stop the dyhration headaches. Sounds like quite an adventure, can't wait for the next installment.
15th January 2008

Wishing you all the best from Cheryl
Hi Coral, wow hectic already there for you! I agree with Flo, what purpose in life has the cockeral got anyway?! There must be some big hunky guy that can sort out your flush surely??!!! Well, we'll all think of you suffering in the blistering heat, whilst we drown in the cold miserable floods back in the uk. Chocolate sounds like a good bet to me on the food front, even melted chocolate tastes great when you're starving!! Anyone got a helicopter or plane handy so we can drop a parcel off quickly to Coral, before she starves??!! Take care Coral, best of luck, and looking forward to the next blog. Cherylxx
16th January 2008

Have they moved that family yet?????
Hi matey.Glad to hear that you have arrived sfely and settled in well. Good to hear that you are wakened by the sound of the mighty Cockeral! I knew sending some Spurs memorabelia would cheer you up!!! lol. Have a great time, sounds like the people are lovely and you are going to have a ball!!! (no, no pun intended and no, not a red ball!!!!). What is your time difference over there??? Take good care and try not to knock any goalies out!!! lots of love, Barbara xxxx
16th January 2008

hey!
Hiya mate, great to hear all's going well, sounds like you're having a blast! Shine and be happy and keep in touch, looking forward to reading your next installment! Much love, Kat xxx

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb