Big Love and Dance Moves


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 9th 2008
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

what a nightmare...i brought soo many clothes back to ghana...its actually ridiculous..now i have soo many clothes in AFRICA. i dont know what to do with them. being a girl in africa is tough..am i the smelly hippy chick saving the world? am i corporate but not taking a shower? are facemasks acceptable? how do you make sweaty armpits look good? When can i start being comfortable saying thankyou after someone calls me fat? Is it okay that i like moisturizing even though im just rubbing around dirt? And speaking of dirt: Even though there is dirt at the bottom of the bucket do you still use it to wash or is it purely for toilet..and most importantly when will i not care again? Hmpfh LIFE QUESTIONS.

these are two stories you should know about:
1.
Arrive in Ghana. Same ol G....(love that song BY THE WAY) Happy to be back..feels normal.yada yada Take a tro tro to work. thankfully did not get the seat inbetween two OBESE ladies...on top of the world..snickering at the poor soul squished in the heat..Speeding down the highway...shiza..this is when people die..not in norway now folks. panicking about why the 'mate' has not given me my change...You cant take my money just because im white you know! Realizing its 10 cents we are talking about..but its all about pride...fitting in..Damnit...I am AFRICAN!!!!!!!! so get out of the tro tro clutching my 10 cents that i awquardly asked for as i step out of the tro tro.."could i? i meeannn i think it was ten cents???"...get grabbed by the random old lady that guides me across the highway every morning..never felt so special... she remembered me!..but does she want me to pay? never understood that..so i never do..but i'll give her some chocolates tomorrow...


Scene: im in a white shirt..with my new cute black vest..and black cropped pants..new gold shoes that were a weee bit small..made me hobble a bit but who cares you know..its only a 15 minute walk..quasimodo style..just said bye to my old lady..got a wink from a guy on a bicycle..life is great..im hot...then turn around and see a mans penis...penisssssssss.....dont know why the eye just went RIGHT there....everytime....shock..what is going on? damn i love l'afrique

But:
Ofcourse he sees me..staring at his penis..partially because i just stop and stared..had a little smile to myself..penis..but then again ofcourse he is a crazy naked man with cloth tied around his head 'knowing' he is royalty...my favorite kind...but apparently his penis or penis' in general is not to be stared at..or laughed at for that matter...why do they always have to get so personal? he lifts his finger and is just yelling at me...i start panicking..mumbling..sorry o'...sorry...i didnt mean to..i just..ahhh..i have no clue what he is saying..(for all i know he could have been saying..hi how are you? have a nice day..but something in his eyes....) i start wobbling fast..and faster..but he starts coming after me..AHHH..im so scared..wobbling faster..if only i could just get to the banana lady...he is right behind me now...yelling really loudly..im still mumbling...turn around..he has no teeth and i get a whiff of god knows what...why today..WHY? and in a white shirt..noo..fortunately there was an intervention..a guy stopped him telling him not to scare me..or something else nice in twi..or maybe not nice...but more men came around and did the circle thing...i dont want to know what happens when they circle..hopefully just some words of wisdom but something tells me that wasnt what was going down...
By the time they finished i have wobbled half way up the road.
Team Sorheim WINS.

Now i cant remember story two right now..but all i can say it was good...but i met my uncles (the pig farm we visited) NEIGHBOUR at accra airport...isn't that ridiculously weird?...he then went on to tell me that one of his workers (owns a biodiesel company in ghana) took home his pregnant ghanaian girlfriend and right now she lives with his parents in SOLA...(might aswell be living on my deserted island) and they dont speak ENGLISH..oh the PAIN...maybe its just me...but thats just so AWQUARD.

well its lunch time..and ill go back to daydreaming about hanging out with you...i tell a joke..you laugh..private dancer is playing in the background...we end up spooning...see a rainbow....ahh life is great in the bubble.


big sloppy kisses,

nini

Advertisement



10th January 2008

Dette gjorde dagen min complete. Now I understand what naked men chasing u involves. OH LORD. Thats so nice you think about me and fantasize about spooning me. Savne deg og. LillÄh

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb