Second Monday Brings Rain For the First Time (by Leandra)


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was prepared for rain everyday. So much so that Egan bought me a pair of Crocs (burgundy Mary Janes—the cutest I could find) and I only brought rubber flip flops. Mid-way through last week I started desperately wishing for just one pair of my heels or anything for variety, particularly since discovering our amazing seamstress and acquiring some fabulous dresses that are now relegated to flip-flop-ness. I was so misinformed about what was appropriate for packing that I just feel like a bum half the time, since most Ghanaian women look immaculate, with elaborate dresses and jewelry, and yes, shoes. I packed appropriately for the weather, but as far as cute, "going out" clothes, I was just thinking we were in more rural, urban, Muslim areas, where tank tops and cleavage would bring stares and bad things. But it's like going out anywhere in Accra, and I wish I had this shirt and those pants and especially those shoes. So anyway, today was our first taste of rain (and it poured like the Oya-Sango deity war from the story we read for class today--so appropriate that I think Oya was looking out for me) and it RAINED. But not for too long, just too hard, and now it's back to sunny Accra, where I'm rocking the same flip flops I've been wearing all week. I'm wearing the Crocs tomorrow, rain or shine.

Advertisement



27th May 2007

This is just too cute
I am laughing and laughing, such a cute story! Well, Lilla, my little fashion plate, I can just see you with those flipflops. You look beautiful in whatever you wear. Everything is elegant on you!
27th May 2007

i love you mama!
you are too sweet! thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. i can't wait to get back to YOU, the REAL fashionista!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb