A whole month.


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here are the players-
Ruby a.k.a. Akosua Bibini- GVSU student off on her big adventure in Ghana.

Anna a.k.a Speedy Chicken- Also GVSU student. Roommate of mine. Lets me decorate however I want as long as I keep things tidy.

Sherry- GVSU staff. Currently teaching Computers and Society to a bunch of Ghanian students who have a hard time understanding her accent. Also plays the part of "mom" to us young'uns.

Lyndsey- Student from Iowa doing her internship in Health Studies. Lives in a room with both air conditioning and running water (hot and cold!) which is a good hang-out spot.

Johanna a.k.a. Johanna Nakita- Austrian student. Fearless, independant, and resident expert on all things Austrian, German or European. She is currently teaching Anna and I useless german words.

Jim- GVSU professor of English Lit. teaching this semester at UCC.

Mary- Jim's wife. She likes cooking us dinner, but now there are a lot of us so I get to help out. She also taught me how to crochet doilies.


I've been here for one whole month and I think I'm getting used to things. Everything is very different here, but I think we've finally started the business of living. Our room is very spacious and we have cooking supplies and our own bathroom. Anna and I share a room in Kwame Nkruma Hall, which is a notoriously loud dormitory. That's been one of the more difficult adjustments. At around 3am a guy starts blowing a whistle- no kidding- to call all the military training people to get up and run. Around the same time a different guy gets up, sings a church song and delivers a sermon very very loudly. We keep the courtyard facing windows open all the time because of the heat, but it means it's really loud in our room when the whistler and the preacher wake up. I have started getting up earlier here. Everyone else's normal routine seems to be stay up fairly late, wake up really early and then nap durring the hot afternoon. Sort of like a siesta, but not as formal. I may adjust to this schedual if I can, it's useless to try and sleep in past 7am anyways.

Now that I've got my feet on the ground here I'll try to update this journal more regularly. I may even make an attempt at some pictures- but the computers are all really slow so it will be a labor of love if I attempt pictures. I'm taking lots of them, but you may have to wait until I get back to see any of them!


Advertisement



9th March 2007

sounds a little crazy
Man, I would hate that. the whistling and preaching. Does he not realize hes being annoying? Does anyone else get annoyed? Get those pictures up! I want to see you!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb