the swing of things


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
March 13th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Anna and Ruby Anna and Ruby Anna and Ruby

This was at lunch at the Anomabo Beach Resort. We go there almost every weekend to swim in the ocean.
Mary is going home to the U.S. tomorrow and mentioned having to go to Meijer's once she gets back, and the thought of it makes me cringe a little. This is how I know I'm getting used to things here.
I go to the market and buy a few things, not more than enough to easily carry, and haggle over prices a bit or chat with the girls there. I wash my clothes in the bucket of water Anna or I carried up the stairs, the same bucket I will use for my shower and dishes later on. I walk a mile down the road to class where I sit at a long, dark, old desk on a long dark old bench, elbow to elbow with six other classmates. It is at least eighty degrees every day, and the nights aren't much cooler.
Last night I went to class at 6:30 like usual, but the prof didn't show up until 8:00- we waited. Apparently this is typical. The Ghanian professors are treated more like we treat doctors in the U.S. than teachers. I wish I could predict this sort of thing more, or at least know what is expected of me.
goats on the beachgoats on the beachgoats on the beach

There are goats and sheep everywhere here. Even on the beach.
I have my first test on Thursday. I hope I do well. I know that I've learned so much, I just don't know if it will be on the test.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

dorm 1dorm 1
dorm 1

This our dorm. It's very spacious and came with a fridge and television in it. We've re-arranged and it looks more lived in now, but this is how it looked when we arrived.


13th March 2007

you look so cute!
wow, that beach looks amazing! haha. I like the goats, too.
14th March 2007

speaking of cute...
I have more cute little goat pictures than you're gonna believe! and the beach is amazing- the water here is so warm, it's great.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb