Timkat


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Bale
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I knew that yesterday was a public holiday for Timkat (Epiphany) but I didn’t know what it entailed as nobody told me. Although to be fair, I didn’t make a real effort to find out. Yesterday, as the College was closed, I pottered. I had a really quiet day, enjoyed reading in bed until 9am, did some laundry - I figured it was about time I washed my dressing gown that mum and dad sent out to me. Then in the evening, I hired the DVD of The Notebook, which is based on a book by Nicholas Sparks. I have read the book, seen the film before and still cried! It was such a luxury - watching the film and crying at it while eating veggie mince and onions with potatoes and drinking Gouder (local red wine)! All I needed for perfection was a bucket of popcorn!

Just after lunch today, I went to return the DVD and passed a gathering crowd at the fountain, complete with Ethiopian flags and silk umbrellas. As I was returning home, it appeared that the procession was going to come up past the College, and, of course, I didn’t have my camera with me.
Timkat ParadeTimkat ParadeTimkat Parade

The procession stopped in the gateway to Robe Teachers' College
I figured that I could beat them as the mass was moving slowly, so I nipped up a side street, climbed in a gari (horse and cart), went home, got my camera, and was at the College gates well before the procession. I went back towards the fountain a little way and stopped to wait - soon gathering a crowd of farenji-watchers around me!

The procession stopped in the gateway to the College (but nobody could tell me why) and a mat was produced for the priests to stand on while a group of men danced in front of them. After 15 minutes, the whole procession moved off along the main road towards Goba, presumably going to an Orthodox Church.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Timkat ParadeTimkat Parade
Timkat Parade

As well as flags and silk umbrellas, religious paintings were carried.


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb