END GAME Marsa Alam-Switzerland-Home: out with a BANG!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
July 20th 2007
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last few days have passed by with too much fun to worry about recording it all! At the moment, Im in a comfy, Air Conditioned van speeding along the highway, with the Red Sea coast on our right and the desert mountains on our left. Ryan and I have been quite successful bartering with the locals. From an individual economic benefit perspective, it is a very good system! I just bought some tea leaves (hibiscus I think) for about $2.50 - all I have to do now is figure out how to make the tea!
HAHAHA. Our cultures are very different! A group of us - me, Pascal, Marc, Harry, Sayed, and Mustafa the cook, went into the town of Marsa Alam last night. It would have been funny to watch our group in fast-forward from a birds-eye-view- the only white people scurrying about the town, keeping in a tight circle and watching our backs at every corner! The funny thing was, much different from the stereotypical view of thieving Egyptian town, I found the people to be quite welcoming. FOR EXAMPLE - I had a pleasant time purchasing a coke from yet another Egyptian who thought I was Italian, sitting down in one of the 25 wooden chairs outside a restaurant, to watch a made-for-tv Arabic drama with 20 of my closest Egyptian friends smoking their favorite brand of Shisha on their elaborately designed Hookah. Im glad that we had Sayed and Mustafa as our guides. Without them, we would be four lost pineapples in a sea of spaghetti.
There is more to the story- I may add some more on Sunday 22nd or Monday. Peace Yall, I gotta go to Zurich to party


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb