Ive Seen His Glory


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If there was a word to describe yesterday, it would be “AWESOME.” We’ve had 4 dives each day and I haven’t missed one! You can pretty much call me a dive master. Around 7 in the morning, about 8 of our crew of 13 slid backwards into the warm Egyptian waters after being delivered to our new reef by our trusty Zodiac driver. My buddy was Maldini (a stylish mate from Egypt with a girlfriend from Italy- he made sure to call he a couple time from his sweet phone). A little about Maldini: He’s the man, plain and simple. He can’t sneak up on anyone, especially after diving, due to the fact that he douses himself in sweet smelling cologne. He’s been diving 70 meters with his girlfriend who is a dive mater (BTW for all the non-divers out there, 70 meters is about 225 ft, which is over 100 ft deeper than PADI allows you to go: translation = Maldini is a bad ass (pardoner ma Français).
The first dive was my favorite to date. We spiraled up a volcano-ish coral reef. I like because we equalized to 30 meters (haha, I went my deepest ever!!! 30.5 meters, over 100 feet) and then made a nice and easy ascent. The colors were amazing, I totally wish that each and every one of you could be there.
Cave diving: OK, so now I have a new favorite dive! It was more than awesome!
Jean-mi is next to me now, he calls me, “j5.” He also calls me “Peter Parker,” “Spiderman,” and “Tobey McGuire,” because….. I look like him?!? He says Ryan looks like Harry Osbourne- and, when he shows his temper, acts like him too.
We looked for dolphins in the afternoon. It was unsuccessful, but I had faith that we would find some eventually.
I spent about an hour today at the edge of the boat while we were in transit between dives. God is so amazing. The Red Sea is such a beautiful place! The wind rushed past my face, the sun beat down on my bare back, and the water shined bright blue, as I surveyed the horizon and thanked God for His beautiful earth. While I was playing, “King of the World,” flying fish played beneath me and, much to my delight, 3-4 dolphins appeared suddenly near the bow of the boat- they swam along for just long enough for me to thank God for blessing me with such a great week!
NIGHT DIVES ARE SWEET- When was the last time you saw lion fish hunt fish and eat them in front of your face? Or, I’m sure you see eel seek out their pray in the middle of the night- and I’m sure you’re 50 ft underwater all the time with all the lights out and shaking your hands about to create little lights from the plankton~ yeah, that stuff happens all the time!
I played some sweet poker (and totally lost) with Jean-Marc and 4 other dudes. I had some sweet conversation with Freddy (j-m) about his prayer life- something that he brought up himself! He prays to Mary and God each night. But, he also prays to Jesus and the Holy Spirit, if he is in need of something specific during the day. I look forward to hearing more about people’s spiritual lives- it’s so exciting!
PS- the title refers to the FACT that I saw God’s glory while riding at the bow of the boat


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb