Luxor - East Bank


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
April 6th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Steigenberger Nile Palace HotelSteigenberger Nile Palace HotelSteigenberger Nile Palace Hotel

The view from our Nile front room. We got a free upgrade :-)
I'll need a train ride to catch up on these blogs, haha. I figured I'd keep the pictures coming though. Here are some pictures from our day in Luxor. Karnak temple is the largest ancient temple in the world. The magnitude is incredible. The Luxor temple, though it is much smaller, is equally as cool because the condition of the statues are so much better. Also, you're able to see the Roman influence and the temple walls where Roman paintings were chipped away to find the ancient Egyptian carvings underneath. One of the coolest things of today was a group of Egyptian women traveling from Alexandria stopping to thank us for traveling to Egypt. A man at the temple translated for us, because Michael and I did not understand, but the women wanted a picture with me because I was wearing a head scarf. They said that tourists are rare these days, but tourists that wear head scarfs are impossible to find even in busy times and they wanted to be able to show their friends back home because they thought it "was pretty cool". So I took a picture with them gladly. I couldn't help but smile. I like feeling accepted in their culture.

Tomorrow we visit the Valley of the Kings. It also just happens to be my birthday :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Kissing on theSphinxesKissing on theSphinxes
Kissing on theSphinxes

The man asked if we were married and when we replied yes, he insisted on this picture.
Karnak templeKarnak temple
Karnak temple

All to ourselves


7th April 2011
Maeve in Luxor

Nice photos and have a nice trip

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb