First one to go....


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
July 16th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday was a very sad day at our clinic!
I woke up to the ringing of my mobile, with a call from the Chairperson askng me to go over to the clinic right away. We had a tiny 8 week old kitten in hospital since I arrived, she had been abandoned on our door step and was covered in ring worm. So the doctors have been treating her for the last week. She still looked as ugly as hell because she lacked most of her hair due to the ring worm but she was fisty and doing great.
When I arrived to the clinic she was just laying on her side, her temperature was so cold and she could barely breath. Aparently one of the vet assistants had "force fed" her by syringe that morn'n and what I suspected was that she inhaled some of the milk into her lungs!
In Canada there would be things we could do for this, like give oxygen etc to help with breathing. But here those type of tools, although you would expect them to be the bare essentials, most if not 90% of clinics lack these things! So all we could no was try and get her to expel some of the milk and try to warm her up! But unfortunately she died ~20mins after i arrived! I felt so bad for the veterinarian in charge because he had felt so helpless with not being able to help her!
I really have now realized how much I take for granted that in Canada we are so lucky to have all the tools at our disposal when faced with problems!
I think that the vet program should have a course on how to teach students to function if no tests are avaliable and you only have extreme basics in your clinic.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb