$25 Pyramid (or It's Gettin' Hot In Here...)


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
February 5th 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Usually when I hear about an activity involving long shafts, getting down on your knees, and entering in through the back tunnel, I'm not so eager to participate. However, if you're talking about Giza and crawling through the Great Pyramids, well than I say "Grrrrease me up, laddie!" I've been wanting to come to Egypt ever since I first played the game Tutankhamun on Atari 64 (yeah, most people would reflect perhaps on more scholarly passions, but I deren't dut smart.) There's loads of history here but even if you're a flunkie like myself you'll still be amazed by the surroundings. We came into Cairo by bus from Alexandria and I'm telling you when you crest that hill to get your first view of the city, and there laid out in front is the first pyramid, Khafre, then Khufu's, then that little one that no one really gives a shit about, it's an absolute stunner. I'm not one to toot anyone's horn but I would have to say that on the Awesome-ometer of all things Awesome, it was pretty floggin Awesome!! We just got into Cairo yesterday and haven't really done much yet- but I'm just so giddy I feel the need to write in a diary like a pubescent schoolgirl.

We had already spent 2 days in Alexandria, the biggest tease if I ever knew one. The city boasts a dramatic history: put up by Alexander the Great, key port between Egypt and Macedonia hosting one of the ancient Seven Wonders of the World- the Pharos Lighthouse, home of the Alexandria Library which not only shelved the grandest collection of scrolls in the Ancient World but also served as a venue for the world's greatest intellects and scholars to congregate, site where Cleopatra and Marc Antony committed suicide. Unfortunately, none of it is evidenced by any physical remains-- Great Alex is supposedly entombed under the city but no one knows where. The Lighthouse is buried under what is now a fort. The Library burned down from backfire from a half-assed arson job dealt out by Julius Caesar. And nothing remains of Cleopatra's kingdom (though shards of her palace appear to have been discovered in the Mediterranean harbor-- cross your fingers!!). Nevertheless, we still went to see some of "Alex's" modern sites. A new Library has been built which is actually quite impressive-- erected with the assistance of UNESCO, and they don't allow any old scrub-monkeys into the club. Then we just hit random sites around town- Pompey's Pillar, Tomb of Kom-as Shoqafa, Roman Amphitheatre. (I could just be making these names up, which I'm not-- but just wanted to get the point across that we're still heavy into the tour thang).

Oh, and on a sidenote: I'd love to have a showdown between Indians and Egyptians for the title of friendliest people on earth. Screw that whole, "watch out for the touts, they only want your money" crap. The amount of enthusiasm and guidance that complete strangers on the street shower you with makes you feel like you once survived a war together.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



9th February 2006

Nelly-icious
I had no idea Nelly was so popular in Egypt! Hip hop really is universal.
21st February 2006

Nice Intro!
Cheers

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb