Shock to the senses.... and all those other cliches


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

View from my hotel roomView from my hotel roomView from my hotel room

Fantastic! That's Fort Qaitbey in the distance, site of one of the 7 ancient Wonders of the World, the Lighthouse of Alexandria.
My first impression of Alexandria: They're all absolutely bonkers. Stark raving mad.

But first things first. After landing at the 'International Airport', which was about the size of our living room at Campbell Road, and being reunited with my luggage, I moseyed on into the city 60km away. On the way I passed a lake that was a pink/deep red colour. I was quite curious why, so if any of you have any feasible ideas, let me know. My first thought was bloodbath, then maybe iron ore in the soil. Odd. See the picture to see my confusion.

Anyway, my first experience of the 'driving' there came in the taxi ride to the Hotel from the bus stop. I went to put on the seatbelt, and was told not to worry. Went to do it anyway and found it was just a strap with no metal bit, ie just for show. It will sound very cliche, but I can't really explain it apart from using examples. If there are 2 lanes on one side of the road, this means that 3 cars can fit side by side. There is no indicating, just swerving. Also there is a specific horn
Red Sea. You would think.Red Sea. You would think.Red Sea. You would think.

A random 'lake' about 30 minutes outside of Alex. Why is it red you might ask? Your guess is as good as mine.
language. It either means "Here I am. I am a taxi. Do you want to hire me?" or "I'm coming through/What do you mean, you're coming through?!?". Again. Absolutely mad.

Anyway I dumped my backpack and went to check out the city. I first checked out the Bibliotecha Alexandria, which was the top library in the world before various pillages by invaders. Then, the most challenging part of my trip to date. Ordering food whilst not knowing a word of Arabic. What makes it worst is that they have no pictures to point at. But I succeeded, and I splurged of the 60c kebab (go the exchange rate!).

The second day turned out perfectly fine and the Mediterranean looked fantastic, so I took the tram around the waterfront to Fort Qaitbey, which is a old fortress used a few hundred years ago, but remains in excellent condition after several reconstruction efforts.

It was here I fully understood my celebrity status. Alexandria is not on alot of peoples destination lists, and I have seen maybe 5 Caucasians since I have been here, certainly none in my budget accomodation region. But I had my photo taken about 20 times
Bibliotecha AlexandriaBibliotecha AlexandriaBibliotecha Alexandria

This used to be one of the foremost libraries in the world in ancient times. As you can see, it has been upgraded a bit.
with local girls, and the security guard even said they were good for marriage (despite being 12/13) and offered them to me. He actually didn't say marriage and was slightly more graphic, but we'll keep this a family affair.

Anyway, into the afternoon, I went and checked out the Roman Amphitheatre ruins, which was fantastic. Laying in the sun in peace and quiet while looking at 2000+ year old colums and buildings is an excellent way to spend time and I fully recommend it. Oh on a completely unrelated matter, to those back in NZ, and the UK, how's work going?

But that is my first 2 days in Alexandria, and i've changed plans slightly and am going to see if I can get out in the water and do some scuba diving tomorrow and check out an underwater city they have there. So fingers crossed foir that and stay tuned for the next instalment. And as I am writing, the NZ cricket runchase of 210 is about to start. Go the Kiwi's!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Fort QaitbeyFort Qaitbey
Fort Qaitbey

Close-up of the seaside fortress.
Random mosqueRandom mosque
Random mosque

Title says it all.....
Roman Amphitheatre RuinsRoman Amphitheatre Ruins
Roman Amphitheatre Ruins

Only ruins in Egypt. Those Romans, they went everywhere!
Me in Roman Amphitheatre RuinsMe in Roman Amphitheatre Ruins
Me in Roman Amphitheatre Ruins

Just chillin' in the amphitheatre.


17th March 2007

Gees man, it all looks amaising over there. Just can't get enough of those ruins aye?!! However, sounds like it is definately a bit of a cultureshock over there but ultimately that's why we travel. Blackcaps have made a good start. And yes, work is great you bastard!!lol Take care buddy
1st April 2007

the red lake
ok....so i asked my grandmother..a genuine egyptian. she said its called the KING MARRIOTT lake, and the water actually comes in from the mediterranian sea. so quite salty. something about the time of day and how the sun hits the water makes it look red? i dont know, just passing info she gave me :)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb