One week of relaxation and Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza » Saqqarah
July 16th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well after a week of mixed emotions, lots of eventful times and an amazing view, I have finally decided what to think of this place called Cairo. Everyday brought up a different emotion for me, some days I was very homesick, other days extremely happy and blissful. Overall, I really do like this place and am so happy I am here!

The first thing you notice when you get here is the driving. There are no street regulations and it is a little bit insane, I have pictures of cars less than a foot away from ours, I can literally reach out and touch the other person in the car with the window down. There are no lanes and no crosswalks, people cross the streets at any time they want and its just CRAZY!! You almost have to be here yourself to know what I mean.

The first eventful night for us here in Cairo, my husbands brother treated us to a boat ride on the Nile and a horse carriage along the Nile. Seriously the whole time I was on the boat I was just thinking "I cannot believe I am on the Nile right now!!!!!!!!" haha. I felt so blessed.

We also went to Khan el-Khalili (Arabic: خان الخليلي‎) and had so much fun! It is a historic site with all kinds of bazaars and shops and things for sale! We saw so much! One of the first places we went to we were looking at all of the things for sale and saw that there were some cats there, and anyone that knows me knows I heart cats. I was admiring them and kind of actually worried about them because they looked a little thin. Then I started looking at something I really liked at the shop and walked forward, not realizing the cat was there, stepped on it and it scratched my toe! 😞 It hurt sooooo bad!!! We went to a pharmacy and they cleaned it for me and advised me to get a tetanus shot... haha, uh no thank you!! Unless that cat was eating mercury or something, I think I'm fine without it!

Anyways, the shops were awesome, we saw so many things that we would like to bring back home, we are just working on our bartering skills so we can go back and get it for cheaper. 😊

Last night we went to another shop type place, they are pretty much everywhere!! and we started talking with this guy selling makeup. I got alot of new very cool makeup for sooo cheap! he was very funny, he kept asking me to find him a wife from America! haha. Anyone interested?? 😊 He knows alot about makeup. haha.

Tonight we went and saw a movie, it was very relaxing and fun. One of the hardest things for Islam and I to get used to here is the fact that we saved up all of our money for here. haha. We are still in save mood so we are hesitant about spending money, but everything is seriously soo much cheaper here! comparatively of course. We got ice cream for 3 people for 12 pounds which is the same as about 2 dollars, in America, we would have atleast paid 6 dollars!!

Tomorrow we are supposed to go to the Citadel and then we are going to visit his family, I am excited for an eventful day and I better get to bed and get my beauty sleep.

I will leave you with a phrase I used several times at the bazaars.."le shokran"(No thank you in arabic) hehe. Goodnight!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb