I love Egypt!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza » Saqqarah
July 9th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Egypt VisaEgypt VisaEgypt Visa

I had to get this visa at the airport for $15 dollars. :)
What a night!

Our flight to Moscow was brutal!! I thought that the flight from NY to Moscow was going to be the worst because it was a total of 9 hours, but I was wrong! The flight that was supposed to be 5 hours from Moscow to Cairo turned into a 5 hour delay--on top of the 7 hour layover we already had--with the 5 hours up in the air. They didn't delay the flight until we were already on the plane so we were on a smaller plane than before for 10 hours!!!

Needless to say, I was extremely happy when we arrived at Cairo!

We arrived to Cairo at 2:30 am, so it was still dark. The view was absolutely amazing! We could see the silhouette of the pyramids from the plane!! It's hard to describe how honored, blessed and truly amazing I felt knowing that I could see the pyramids right outside of my window!!!

I have showed my passport to officials 3 times so far and did not have any trouble until I entered Cairo Airport. In the American culture, it is normal and expected for a new wife to change their last name to their husband's, but in Egypt that is not normal or expected. So my name confused the heck out of the officials!! hehe. Amber Abdul-Moneim, I had to step aside and explain to them that my father is American and that I took my husband's last name. Haha. I would never think that to happen before, I was scared for a second but got over it as soon as Islam was able to explain to them that it was his last name. haha.

Arriving to my husband's family's condo was the best experience ever!! His mother was beyond welcoming and have been nothing but nice to me. The only thing I wish I could have done before I came here was learn more Arabic, it is a struggle to communicate, but we are figuring out our own way of communicating.

I couldn't be more happy right now, we are finally where we have wanted to be and it feels like home!

Later tonight around sunset which I think should be very soon..it is 6:30 pm(11:30am in Dallas!!)..we are going to go to the venue and pick out details of the wedding!! 😊 When I get home, I will post another blog because I am sure that will be an experience as well, even just to get there. hehe.

"ma'a as-salaama" (مع السلامة)--goodbye in arabic! 😊

Advertisement



9th July 2011

Glad your made it safe
Glad your made it safe...I hope I don't have 10 hours sitting on a plane like that. :( Love ya, -Curtis

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb