Pyramids of Giza


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza » Mohandessin
January 26th 2012
Published: February 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I woke up today later than planned as I hadn't had the best sleep the night before with demonstrations continuing on Tahrir Square well into the night. At breakfast I got talking to a doctor about the same age as me from Alexandria who was down for the Anniversary the day before. However, he said he wasn't there to celebrate, but to ensure that revolution was enforced. His attitude was different to the general atmosphere the day before, but he was certainly representative of what some people felt about the anniversary.

I got a bus from near Tahrir out to Giza this time for the Pyramids. As we got close an Egyptian guy helped me to get off at the right spot. I was pretty ignorant to him after the day before, expecting him to try fleece me in someway. But after I got going the right way he went off about his business. It's a shame you have to act like that towards them, but then you wouldn't if it wasn't for the way some of their fellow Caironese behaved.

As I approached the real entrance to the Pyramids, the touts flocked towards me. I was ready for them today though with sunglasses on, earphones on and repelling each of them by saying "Ni thuigim Bearla" (I don't understand English in Irish). One of the most persistent ones kept after me asking "you French, German, Russian?"

Once I got into the Pyramids enclosure, they weren't as bad. Even though Egypt's tourism is suffering because of the political situation, I was surprised at the lack of tourists at the Pyramids. As piles of rocks go, the Pyramids of Giza have to rank up there with the best of them. The Sphinx is also pretty special. The site as a whole pales in comparison to Petra, in my opinion.

I got a minibus to the metro in order to avoid the madness of Cairo rush hour traffic. Later, I went for some dinner and a few beers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb