24 Hours in Alexandria


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria » Borg El Arab
January 27th 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I checked out of the Canada Hostel and got the Metro to the Turgoman bus station. I was lucky to get on a bus straight away and was on my way to Alexandria. For most of the 3 hour bus journey it was very sunny and looked like it was going to be a very nice day. Then about half an hour before arriving in Alexandria, the clouds started to gather and it started to lash rain. The Irish curse strikes again.

After I got off the bus, I fended off the taxi drivers and went looking for a minibus going into town. One guy asked me where I was going, brought me straight to the minibus and got in himself. On the bus he and the other passengers were asking for my opinion on what should be done with Mubarak and he even paid my fare. After my encounters in Cairo, I was a bit wary of accepting this generosity, but he would not take anything off me. He got off the same stop as me and pointed me in the direction of my hotel. Maybe I should stop being so paranoid about Egyptians trying to help!

I checked in at the Union Hotel, which is right on the Corniche and perfectly located. It was getting dark and the weather was fairly miserable so I went for something to eat and then for a sheesha, while watching a Zamalek match followed by Gabon beating Morocco 3-2 in a cracking match.

Next day, I walked all along the Corniche and checked out most of the sights that Alexandria has to offer. The new Library is a very modern building inside and out, with some antiquities found there on display. Alexandria has a bit more of a European feel compared to Cairo and I imagine is very pleasant in the summer. But aside from a few main streets, it seems in a worse state of decay than Cairo in many places.

I did manage to find a brilliant seafood restaurant down one of the back alleys. For less than 5 euro I got a plate full of calamari, prawns, clams, a full cod, battered haddock and something else I didnt recognise. This included a separate plate of garlic potatoes, rice and a drink. Afterwards, I went for another sheesha and then caught the night bus to Siwa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb