Goodbye Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 1st 2012
Published: July 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Just a few hours and I'll depart for my flght back home. I'm coming home early to prepare for my studies, and because the money has run out!

Egypt and I are once again friends, and it is largely due to a friend I have made here and because of Cairo. You know me, I'll tell everyone when you are visiting a country get out of the city and go to the countryside, where the real people are. Cairo is my one exception so far. Cairo is massive, polluted, confusing and awesome. I do like this city.

Yesterday a new found friend and I went and saw MIB3 in 3-D at this sophisticated shopping mall that was over 6 floors tall and had every store you can imagine, Timberlane, Fuddruckers, Claires, Baskin Robbins, Chilis, etc. It was a great way to spend the day and I am thankful for having found a friend in Mostafa, my Egyptian guide. We mall walked a bit and used the local transportation, minibuses, to get around. Now a quick note on mini-buses - holy shit these drivers are mad, mad, mad. But this is normal, and well its a heart check at least - my ticker is just fine!

I really like it here because I can melt in, walk around and not be too much of a novelty. I can window shop without being grabbed or followed. Gift shops are my obsession, I love to look, so this is a good thing! I'm located right near Tahrir square, an important place for political expression. There are hundreds of people camped out in tents right in the middle of the square, striking for something that I haven't quite figured out yet.

If you ever come here, try the food to be had at one of the many Kosheries. This is basically Egyptian fast food and it is awesome; layers of noodles, lentils, rice, a tomato based sauce, and some chick peas all combine to make this a quick, cheap and filling meal.

Also, while I'm doing shout outs - a quick one for my travel agency. I consider myself a bit of a traveler now,maybe above level noob, you know, able to get around without the help of guided tours (as most people are - seriously you CAN do this). However, I don't know how you would travel and see everything in Egypt in the course of a week or so, without help and at a reasonable price. If you are here, go through an agency. I booked mine through Canadian Hostel, and my package was amazing and extremely, extremly reasonably priced. It is aimed at backpackers, however, other travelers were staying at the same places, taking the same taxis and mini buses to these sites, so give it a thought.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb