a great day to be back in Egypt...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, after realizing how much I couldn't remember about my life in China the past 14 months I came to two conclusions: 1. that I may possibly suffer from early-onset Alzheimer and 2. it's time I start keeping a blog to keep my wonderful memories recorded. so here goes...


Today was the first day spent with both my brothers in over 10 years. It felt great to be reunited, a much needed desire to get in touch with familial roots had finally been quenched; the three of us out on the town driving around downtown Cairo (also the first time for me to drive in over 9 months). We visited "The Citadel", Omar my younger brother got a chance to see some of Egypt's rich history and we all took some great shots together (will post them up later). Omar dressed up in Ottoman style clothing, we had some good laughs.

I forgot how bad Cairo's traffic is. It takes about an hour to go anywhere due to the congested streets. After leaving the Citadel we went to our cousin's place and spent some time with relatives while eating dinner and smoking "sheesha" in the balcony after dinner. It's 1155pm now and we have to get up 730am tomorrow for an eventful, and joyful, day of visiting historic sites or the Pyramids tomorrow so that's enough for today.

I'll post pictures up soon.
--peace and much love to my friends and special ones in China 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb