3 tour guides, 2 days in Egypt, and 1 great time!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Friday we saw the pyramids and the Sphinx - we even got to climb down one of the shafts in the pyramid to an actual tomb where one of the queens was buried. We went on the best tour ever, we lucked out and got a tour guide that used to be an archaeologist that worked in the pyramids. His name was Ragab and had hair growing out of the top of his nose. He knew so much stuff it all started to sound the same and I felt guilty for not caring more about Ancient Egypt. He was one of three tour guides that we got with our tour package! Uosef was our driver and Mohammed just came along for the ride, I think. There were only two of us on the trip so I'm not sure how that worked out, but whatever. After the pyramids and Sphinx we had lunch in a nearby restuarant, then we went to see how papyrus paper is made and I bought a piece of art that I cannot wait to get framed, and then we went to a perfume shop and I bought oil perfume from a guy named Dr. Rambo. Dr.
Mickey the CamelMickey the CamelMickey the Camel

Riding a camel named Mickey in front of the Great Pyramid. His owner kept saying "smile Mickey!"
Rambo said it was 'the best quality ever' which of course I believed. I spent almost all of my Eyptian pounds in one day! Egyptian pounds are 5.5 to $1. Spending 550 pounds is $100, and I felt like I spent a fortune when in reality it was completely reasonable, the number just sounded high. After an awesome day at the pyramids and being suckered into papyrus art and essential oil perfumes...we went on a dinner cruise on the Nile.

On Saturday we went to the Egyptian museum with the mummies, the Citadel, Mohammed Ali's mosque, the Floating Church, and then to the bazaar. We had a late flight out Saturday night so we were only in Cairo a few days but I think we got to see everything we wanted to see.

All is well and according to every Egyptian man I encountered, I am 'so beautiful....beautiful eyes...so beautiful.' I could get used to that - ha! They were kind of creepy but I can't help but be flattered, because hey, like Dolly Parton says..."It takes a lot of efoort to look like this!" (Steel Magnolias reference, 200 points).



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Crawling down into a tomb!Crawling down into a tomb!
Crawling down into a tomb!

We were allowed to crawl down into a tomb to check it out. The hole to get down there was really small and at an extreme angle - it was not easy!
Lunch at Khan al-Khalili MarketLunch at Khan al-Khalili Market
Lunch at Khan al-Khalili Market

We ate a traditional Egyptian lunch of rice, macaroni noodles, spaghetti, lentils and tomato sauce. It was really good!


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb