Stacey's Revenge


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The best revenge is good livin.

So to combat the ongoing 'Pharoah's revenge' in the form of the 10 plagues of Egypt that have been unleashed upon me, I have to decided to go with the flow, and therefore take control of my very bizarre destiny here in Cairo.

I have made the executive decision to drop all but one of my classes, the one being on Sunday. Strangely enough, this decision has made me more productive and ambitious. I might stay in another of my classes, just because it's easy peasy and no one cares if you don't show up to class, which is my plan so I can travel Egypt, now that I only have one measly month left here (ridiculous! where has the time gone!)

I went home. for two weeks. I didn't even realize it was that long! But it was relaxing and I just zoned out and pursued a serious form of escapism, not even deciding what I was going to do. I just needed to remove myself from the madness. I mean, Egypt isn't an easy place to live in normally, let alone when you're cripple, half blind, coughing up a lung and your bones are all out (the chiropractor was fun...).

so it was good. since i've been back i had two extremely sucky days of jetlag and indecision. but the burden is lifted! it's amazing how stressed I was... I didn't even realize how guilt-laden and tired I was.

Yesterday revealed this- even having the burden of the decision off my back was great. And in consequence, i have been extremely productive- I finished 2 papers, caught up on all my emails, cleaned and decorated my apartment, made plans for the rest of the week, planned out my next two holidays, and ran a couple little errands, all in the last 24 hours. I feel liberated and happy; if not completely so, much more than the claustrophobic death feeling I've been living under for the past 2 months. I even woke up at 8am this morning of my own volition- and I didn't feel like staying in bed for the rest of the day (I've been racking up regular 12 hour REM cycles)

My back is still out- but nothing is perfect. Stacey: 1, Egypt: 0.

(Oh man... I feel like the cockier I get about this, the worst the next plague is going to be.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb