15 hour busses, Reunions, Backgammon, and Free Buffets


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 5th 2005
Published: November 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Roundabout Bus route

From Jerusalem, to Tel Aviv on the water, to Eilat in South Israel, to Suez, To Cairo. 15 hours could have been maybe 8 if it was a straight drive.

Only White people aroundOnly White people aroundOnly White people around

We fit in nicely. Hot coffee and hookas made us chameleons.
Ah, Africa, technically. I've made it to Egypt after the most rediculous bus ride of my life. I left Jerusalem at 8:30 in the morning for Egypt by way of Eilat-Taba border, through Sinai past the Suez Canal to Cairo, wow.

I got on the bus with room for 20, but only 4 people were aboard, myself and three Muslims that were speaking only Arabic, not even Hebrew. SHIT! So I sulked to the back of the bus to read, sleep, daydream, etc. But in Tel-Aviv the bus filled up every seat. Nice. On board were some really amazing people that made the 15 hour trip a lot of fun (WHAT?!) There were 2 arab-israelis kids learning to speak English, that were going with this 55 year old man on a bike journey up and down the Nile river for 5 days (something like 500 km!). They wanted to know everything about me and America, what I do, why I'm here, but I learned just as much about them and their lives.
Let me cut to the chase. Why it was so cool was their hospitality and good energy, maaaaaaan. I only brough water and pringles on the bus,
Barren desert = 15 hours drivingBarren desert = 15 hours drivingBarren desert = 15 hours driving

This was the scene most of the bus ride to Egypt.
so they fed me pita, cheeses (jesus?), olives, chips, bisli (israeli chips), spices, cucumbers, drinks, everything. We feasted as if there were no tomorrow. We taught each other card games, and sang Arabic folk songs for 3 hours straight, no joke. At one point I took an hour nap, and when I woke up they were still singing the songs and clapping in this small bus.
I made it to Egypt and met up with Adam London, Mr. Lloyd (lyod) Peter West, and Addy Hearst, all friends from California. As I got in at 1 am, we decided to make a night out of it and go stragiht to the nightclubs. Sangria was open, so we got a beer and a hooka (shisha around here) and straight chilled. Hookas cost about 1 dollar to get, so normally people order their own, we shared for health purposes mostly.

Today, we plan to go see the pyramids if I ever get off this computer. What I have seen so far in the day I've been in Egypt was the Khan El-Khalili markets. Spices, shirts, boxes, gold and silver, games, tobacco, hookas are on sale everywhere and the marketeers love to
My homiesMy homiesMy homies

Left to Right is Shadi, Fadi, and Gadi. Poetic. Young promising kids that make the middle east conflict seem like it doesn't exist. Respectful and understanding of different cultures and religions.
speak English and chat it up. I was offered "something I've never seen before", but I wasnt feeling like being forced into seeing his entire shop. So I said I've seen everything, and he said "I've got a long monster with one head, and one eye to show you." I replied, "I've already got one pal." He liked that response, so he laughed and let me off the hook. Most people like to chat in English and make jokes to get you to talk more and stay and peruse their shops, but saying something funnier gets them off and they let you walk away with no real problem.

Haggling is new to me, so I asked Lloyd and London for some tips on how to bargain. I managed to get a 20 dollar backgammon set, really beautiful red wood with mother-of-pearl shells (like abalone). I beat Adam 4 games to 1 yesterday (including one backgammon (basically a shut-out)).

At 3 in the morning one night we walked into the Conrad Hotel a nice hotel to see that a wedding was taking place on the ground floor convention hall. We walked straight in, and then straight to the buffet
Taba BorderTaba BorderTaba Border

Israeli-Egyptian border, beautiful setting.
line to eat all kinds of food. Adam London to the max. See pictures. A nice man from the United Arab Emirates started talking to us, and we talked about the state of automobiles today, including gas prices, new hybrid models and natural gas fueled cars and more. We managed not to get kicked out of that party.

Anyways, alls well, write me an email friends and countrymen. I want to hear from you all. Grachelson@gmail.com

Peace in the Middle East


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Look at those smilesLook at those smiles
Look at those smiles

Kids havin fun. I wish I could show you the videos of them singing and dancing in the bus.
We're the only white people around.We're the only white people around.
We're the only white people around.

Apparently, they like tourists in Egypt.
The Toilet-GuardThe Toilet-Guard
The Toilet-Guard

Notice that the women's room is indicated by Charlize Theron and the mens room by a completely random male. WHo the hell?!
Free foodFree food
Free food

London likes the free buffet. We also had the official wedding photographer take a picture of us for the wedding.
Constantly Insane TrafficConstantly Insane Traffic
Constantly Insane Traffic

Get out of the picture, Lloyd
Nice Egyptian FamilyNice Egyptian Family
Nice Egyptian Family

After talking for a while, they are thinking of sending their 15 year old son (front right) to the states to study medicine. Heart-warming story.
New Backgammon setNew Backgammon set
New Backgammon set

Warm red tone to it, and it came with adam london, too.


5th November 2005

Glad you met up with the California Banditos
Glad to see you three Californians having a splendid time in this ancient country; keep those bloggers coming; so very interesting for me to follow your trip; love; Mom
5th November 2005

Gadi...I miss you!! Your trip sounds amazing. I love your blog and of course all of the pictures. I'll see you when you get back...be safe!
7th November 2005

what? an eyebrow pierce and beard? kiss a camel for us, and we'll ride an elephant for you!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb