into the chaos of Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
September 8th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(kees)

So it was a slow exit out of the chaos and fumes of Casablanca. Then hurray for 50mins down the N11 motorway. Upon arrival I had a very friendly encounter with the Moroccan security, one was drunk and the other two not doing a lot either. When asked where I cycled from, I told them Rabat, they were all pretty enthused and the drunk guard kissed me on the forehead! It was much the same in the airport, no kisses or drunkenness but general enthusiasm; security seemed more interested in my bike than security. So that was that. I got a few surprise looks when turning up at the barley with the bike but after being asked to flatten the tyres (who the hell knows why) and wrapping it up in plastic, they were happy to take it. Upon arrival to Cairo, I was only to find out that my bike had suffered under the baggage handlers and was in serious need of repair- in Egypt! -couldn't have happened at a worse place.

Cairo though was an interesting enough city. Despite the traffic chaos, constant touting and lack of road crossing points (you just have to cross then dodge whatever is coming), I had a good three days, checked out the Nile, the city's markets, the museum and the pyramids of Giza. I even made some new friends and enjoyed some of the city's bars (after a long dry spell in Morocco it was about time!).

Unfortunately, but it does provide some entertainment, nearly everyone on the street is trying to make a buck of you, especially out at Giza. Common sales techniques: one dodgy ride dropped us off outside an obvious tourist operator, and called it a 'government tourist office', then everyone there is selling camel rides and whatever else, others suggested that the pyramids were closed and the only way to get in is by camel; then your usual salesmen talk about specials "half price today", "special Egyptian price", "my friend my friend for you, cheap"- prices can be in Euros, sometimes dollars and then back to Egyptian Pounds. It's worse than Morocco and even worse than Indonesia! A common phrase I'd use is "no speak English"- it does work from time to time.

Following Cairo, with a fellow traveller, I headed up to Alexandria. The city was all a bit quieter than that Cairo place. It had the usual markets and salespeople but also had a spectacular waterfront with the odd ruin.

Well the old bike is kind of half repaired so I decided that cycling the northern Coast to the Suez Canal is probably the best way to go. I have the tent so road-side accomodation shouldn't be a problem :-/


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



12th September 2007

Hahaha I so can't imagine you saying 'no speak English'. And very nice-looking new friend you've got there. High five!
12th September 2007

Oh, did you get to go inside the pyramids? Was it scary?
12th September 2007

The most densely populated city on earth
I went to the Tait gallery in London where they had an exhibit on megalopolises (however you spell that). Surprisingly to me, Cairo is the most densely populated city on earth, ahead of Tokyo, New York, Shanghai or Mumbai. London itself has quite a low density. On another note, looking very hairy! Don't get yourself too ripped off, and I hope you got your bike fixed good and proper!
13th September 2007

Hmmm, those photos look like you have just photo-shopped yourself in front of those pyramids and sphinx... Seriously though...it looks awesome, and yes I'm very jealous. Are you all by yourself now? And do something about that beard...
16th September 2007

pyramids
call me negative but I'd had about enough of the pyramids, all the dodgy salesman and the annoying package tourists and their buses after about an hour. So I didn't really hang round, and going inside was a complete rip-off so I refrained from that activity.
16th September 2007

all by myself
yip it's just me and my bike now. But Dan will be in Cairo soon so we should catch up in a week or so. As for the beard, it's probably here to stay, so many Egyptians ask me if I'm Muslim because of it. When I say 'no religion' it's like they've seen a ghost!
17th September 2007

Tourist Trap
Given the number of prople in the photos, I couldn't see you hanging about the pyramids too long... When you say pricey, I'm curious - what goes for a rip-off in Egypt?

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb