Egypt & The Middle East, Maas Salaama


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 29th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Premature B'day celebrations, Dahab, Egypt.Premature B'day celebrations, Dahab, Egypt.Premature B'day celebrations, Dahab, Egypt.

Living the high life, Dahab, Egypt.
Salam alaykum

Well somehow the trip back from Jordan managed to take even longer than its predecessor! After getting the 5 am bus from Karak, aiming for the midday ferry from Aqaba back to Nuewaba I was hoping everything would run on time. Unfortunately it didn't, the ferry didn’t manage to leave until around 8 pm, at least I had plenty of time to catch up on some sleep in the waiting hall. The ferry put me back in Egypt around 9pm and I hitched a ride with a minibus full of potential dive instructors back to Dahab. After a few hours sleep I had one more luxurious day back, sipping Pina Colada's for lunch, on my favorite shorefront spot. I spent that evening with the budding dive instructors, on the rooftop of a nearby water front hostel, living the 'high' life under the guise of day early birthday celebrations! The next morning slightly dazed and confused I was up early for another 9 hour bus ride back to Cairo, on arrival I negotiated three separate busses on my way to the airport; to get my ticket back to the UK validated, but I what I didn’t realize was that
Dahab Centre, Dahab, Egypt.Dahab Centre, Dahab, Egypt.Dahab Centre, Dahab, Egypt.

Dahab Centre, Dahab, Egypt.
airport working hours are only from 06:00 till 09:30 so I headed back downtown to try the same journey at 4:30 the next morning.


After I sorted my ticket I was left with two days left in Cairo, a societal decompression before I head back to the real world of Europe! I spent the 28th on Zamalek Island, a green and leafy strip by the Nile consisting of a residential and shopping district with a continental twist. Essentially, I guess it is Cairo’s retort to Chapel street. I treated myself to a few lunchtime beers over a pizza, somewhat of an exotic taste after months of eastern fare. That evening was interesting to say the least, as I did manage to tick something off Alex Garlands list of life accomplishments, from his novel The Beach; Be involved in a riot, I’m not quite sure what the riot was in aid of, as it was in Arabic, but I heard it from my 8th floor hostel and thought I’d better take check it out, the streets were flooded with riot police and protesters, I stayed a little while, then things became a bit too serious, so I headed back
Talaat Harb, Downtown Cairo, EgyptTalaat Harb, Downtown Cairo, EgyptTalaat Harb, Downtown Cairo, Egypt

Talaat Harb, Downtown Cairo, Egypt

up to my hostel for some rest…(not much that night)

The next day I just relaxed and drifted through downtown Cairo for the last time, picking up a few necessities, in an attempt to avoid England’s unavoidable and exuberant price tags, then at 4:30 tomorrow morning I will be on my way to the airport.

I have watched the weeks trickle into days and now I’m venturing toward a whole new part of the world, so I suppose that’s it; what can I say about Egypt, Jordan and the Middle East? It is a magical place overflowing with both amazing archeological monuments, and simultaneous tourist clichés. It was Egypt where Pharos ruled, the holy family sheltered and Napoleon pilfered, and because of this I have always perceived Egyptians in a historical context. But that has definitely changed; they are amiable and proud, helpful and generous people, all in a country where I have been treated with nothing but the utmost respect. It is a place where the past effortlessly coexists with the present, shrouded in misconceptions. I am already beginning to miss the evening air filled with the fragrance of sweetly scented apple shisha combined with the aroma
Riot Police Talaat Harb, Cairo.Riot Police Talaat Harb, Cairo.Riot Police Talaat Harb, Cairo.

Riot Police Talaat Harb, Cairo.
of strong Arabic coffee drifting through it! Topped inevitably with the twilight call to prayer


Wa alaykum es salam



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb