Local vendors visit Camp Lemonier


Advertisement
Djibouti's flag
Africa » Djibouti
April 29th 2006
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day started out like normal. Heard the hustle and bustle of the large trucks loaded with vendors and their wares. Seemed like a good MWR function until I went shopping and saw the prices. Looked at several items that I had seen out in town. They were unbelievably high. One item I looked at the vendor wanted $150 US dollars. Couldn't believe it. Finally found some items that I wanted and talked the guy down to $70 US for all. I knew he took Djiboutian Francs but couldn't calculate fast enough. Asked him how much in DF. He said 15,000. When I calculated that out-it was $90 US. I was mad and told him I knew that it was really 11,500 DF. He looked at me with a smile like he was saying-"Darn, you caught me." I was miffed but paid him his money and went on my way.

This evening I had an overwhelming craving for pizza. Normally the DFAC, otherwise known as the mess hall, has those round microwaveable pizzas. I didn't want one of those, so I asked some friends if they wanted to order pizza from out in town and have it delivered. No one knew they had a pizza place that delivered. Anyway-after getting the phone number and ordering the pizza from a guy that pretty much only spoke French, we went to the gate to wait for the pizza guy. I asked my friend, "How are we going to know it's the pizza guy"-You see they don't have signs on their cars like in the states and we had no idea if was going to show up in one of the notorious green and white taxi cabs. All of a sudden this guy comes out of no where on this moped and stops by our car. We justed laughed. Pizza was good. I was afraid it would have goat or something strange on it but I made sure I translated each item that was on the menu from a French to English dictionary that I found on Google. I'll probably order again from them. Now it's music time at the Old Cantina. Time to get my groove on. (just teasing) Til Later, Ramona


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th May 2006

pitures!!
Just wanted to say thanks for posting pictures! My husband is stationed there right now, it is nice to have pictures to get a feel for where he is living till August. Thank you again and Aloha!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb