My boss' shopping trip experience


Advertisement
Djibouti's flag
Africa » Djibouti
April 8th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My thoughts for this day-

I was able to convince my boss to go out on a camp sponsored shopping trip as I had done a couple of weeks ago and enjoy himself. Upon his return he told me about how he had seen some small children that appeared to have nothing to their names. He handed out 1,000 Djiboutian Francs (equivalent to $6US) to this child and out of nowhere he was inundated with children wanting money, chewing gum, anything he had to offer. He then realized that his small gesture of generosity was becoming uncontrollable and got back on the bus. He said it reminded him of a story that was told to him once about the Mexican gypsies.

He began to tell the story of a poor woman who was holding a very young infant child. There was a crowd of Americans standing together shopping or something. She would ask for money, food, anything that would better her life. All of a sudden she threw her infant baby high in the air towards the crowd. All of the Americans were horrified at this merciless act with her baby and proceeded to reach their hands up in an effort to catch this baby before she hit the ground. While everyone was focused on catching this child and all hands in the air, a relatively small group of children rushed the crowd and stole wallets, cameras and whatever they could acquire within this brief opportunity. I was stunned as the Commander told this story. I cannot fathom this type of environment and unfortunately this gave me a bad taste in my mouth for those who are truly in need. Unfortunately he agreed and vowed never to be put in a situation like that again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb