Intro to Lima


Advertisement
South America
August 16th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Larco Mar Lima PeruLarco Mar Lima PeruLarco Mar Lima Peru

Great view, lovely dinner and not a bad massage as well
Hi everyone

I arrived safely in Lima about midnight on 16th August. No driver there to pick me up at the airport unfortunately I have since found out he was sick or something. So there I was like a prized thoroughbred at a yearling sale parading around the ring of faces with my bags when I was befriended by a taxi driver named Jesus pronounced heyzuss he tried to help me find the tour operator however after about 15 mins I decided to jump in his cab and he took me to my hotel. With a name like Jesus I knew I couldnt go wrong. As Wendy said at least I didnt have to give it up to Jesus only had to pay him 20 US instead. Anyway we had a nice chat and he told me where it was safe and not safe to go including that I should put my bag on the floor rather than my lap as he had had windows smashed in his cab before...it is hard times for many in Lima.

Spent a couple of days looking around Lima and bought a couple of yummy silver rings from a Lady who spoke English
Paragliding Lima Paragliding Lima Paragliding Lima

This is me paragliding ever so close to the cliff...only kidding mum however they did go soooo close
very well and had actually spent some time living in Adelaide and Ballarat of all places...only one and a half hours from home. Small world is an understatement.

Some of the photos are of Larco Mar which is a shopping and resturant complex near the beach in Lima I walked home from there in the dark and it was beautiful to see all the lights.

Met up with the tour group on the 18th great bunch of people of all ages some pushing 60 I reckon mostly Aussies some from Scotland and also England. The tour manager is fantastic and helped me out with a little baggage issue at the airport. He is originally from the UK however has lived in Lima for 7 years and is married to a local girl.

Some of the other pictures are of MiaFlores in Lima which was about 3 mins walk from where I stayed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Old Lady in the square Mia FloresOld Lady in the square Mia Flores
Old Lady in the square Mia Flores

It is very sad to see a lot of homeless people around lima


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb